个人保护令概况

个人保护令概况

介绍

您是家庭暴力的受害者吗?如果是,可做些什么来保护自己呢?

在新加坡,您可以通过法律渠道申请不同的保护措施,来防止和取缔来自家庭成员的虐待。依据妇女宪章,您可以为自己或其他受害的家庭成员(未成年/无民事行为能力人)申请保护令 。若情节严重,法庭甚至可以颁发家庭保护令(禁止施暴者进入家中)。

何为“家庭成员”?

“家庭成员”是指:

  1. 配偶或前配偶
  2. 子女,包括领养及继子女
  3. 父母
  4. 配偶的父母
  5. 兄弟姐妹
  6. 其他亲属或被法庭判定为家庭成员的无民事行为能力的人

什么是家庭暴力?

“家庭暴力”是指存在以下以下行为:

  1. 蓄意或企图让家庭成员恐惧之中
  2. 对家庭成员造成伤害
  3. 非法监禁限制他人人生自由
  4. 蓄意对家庭成员带来持续性的 骚扰

但不包括任何合法用于自卫的武力行为,以及对21岁以下儿童的行为纠正。

我需要提供什么证据?

您将需要向法庭提供明确且令人信服的证据明确指向一名家庭成员,并证明家庭暴力已经发生有可能会发生

想要获取个人保护令(PPO)/ 紧急保护令(EO) /家庭驱逐令(DEO)的步骤是什么?

递交投诉信

  • 首先须上报家庭法院或家庭暴力专家中心。我们强烈建议通过iFAMS在网络通道递交投诉信,这样可以大大简化初始步骤,节省时间。
  • 开始前,家庭法院的专业人士会对您的状况进行咨询,并且提供必要的信息来保障您的安全。在正式出庭前,法官将会审查您的申请,并就申请提出几个问题,您将被要求宣誓,确认您的申请的内容。
  • 如果一切正常,法官将会向被指控的施虐者发出传票,要求他/她在之后出庭。但如果法院了解到情况迫在眉睫,但案件未进入审理阶段,那么法院会发出紧急保护令(EO),来对当事人进行必要的保护。
  • 法院随后将传票送达至被指控的施虐者,将会产生1新币的费用。

法院程序 (第一天)

  • 被指控的施虐者(到该阶段已成为被告)和你将被要求在同一日出庭。法院官员将会把您的申诉内容通知被告者。如果他/她承认并同意您的申请,则会在同一日签发个人保护令PPO。
  • 如果被告不同意您的申诉,法院通常会指示当事人与家庭法院专家一起接受咨询,以确定是否有解决办法。这通常将在同一天进行。
  • 如果被告不同意您的申诉,法院通常会指示当事人与家庭法院专家一起接受咨询,以确定是否有解决办法。这通常将在同一天进行。
  • 法院将询问双方是否还有为达成协议的事项,如果有,法院将指示双方准备审讯,包括准备陈述/文件和证人。法院还将给出一个再次出庭的日期,以便双方做好准备并交换指示所需内容。如果你已获得一个紧急保护令(EO),法院也会将此延长到下一次开庭。

准备审讯

  • 如果不清楚如何准备所需材料,对双方来说,聘请专业律师是相当重要的,因为法院希望双方在下次开庭时遵守相关指示。这将牵涉到大量的文件/陈述证明和证人名单。律师可以帮助你起草这些文件,也可以解释哪些证人可能与此相关,哪些证人可能与此无关。
  • 当事人和代表律师(如果有律师的话)将出席下一次开庭。在某些情况下,如果你的律师认为有必要的话,你的律师可能会要求对其他当事人的宣誓书作出答复。你的律师也可要求休庭,以此来收集更多有利证据,比如医疗报告。如果有更多的庭审,你的律师也可以要求你免出席,这样你就不必在最后审判前出庭。
  • 一旦法官判定当事各方陈述/文件和证人已经准备齐全接受审判时,法院将安排另一名法官审理案件。当事各方如需要证人出庭作证的话,需在此时告知法庭。该法官将最终决定PPO/DEO是否申请成功。

审讯

  • 根据提供证据的证人的数量,案件审判通常为半天或一天。
  • 每一方及其证人将与他们的文件一起出庭作证,并宣誓或确认他们的证据。然后,他们将被另一方(有时是法官,如果他/她需要澄清)诘问他们的证据。这可能是一个漫长而艰巨的过程,因为每一方都试图证明自己的情况(要么获得PPO/DEO,要么为申请辩护)。
  • 诘问结束后,双方将就法庭是否批准申请进行辩论。
  • 如果双方由律师代表,则交叉询问和法庭辩论将由其熟悉获取PPO/DEO相关法律的律师进行。
  • 法院随后将对申请作出裁决。除非任何一方选择在命令发出后14天内对该决定提出上诉,否则该事件即告结束。
  • 一旦PPO被发布,将一直有效直至被取消。

如果我没有出庭将会发生什么?

如果任意一方没有在指定日期出席,例如:听证会,审讯日,咨询日:

  • 缺席的申请人将被取消其申请。
  • 缺席的被告将被签发逮捕令。

如果我违反了PPO/EO/DEO,将会发生什么?

违反PPO/EO/DEO将导致刑事调查,并可能导致刑事指控。对违反治安管理秩序的人,根据情节轻重,可以由刑事法院处以罚金,甚至判处有期徒刑。

我为什么要请律师来处理这些诉讼?

  • 如上所述,这一过程可能是冗长和艰巨的,需要准备证明或反驳申请的文件和证据。
  • 公开法庭上会有其他人出席,这对一些人来说可能会带来恐慌。
  • 整个审讯过程将非常严肃,会让部分人感到恐慌。您需要站在证人台上接受对方的审查和诘问,在某些情况下,还需接受法官的问讯。如果对方是由法官代理,拿将对您十分不利。

熟悉这类工作的律师会为你起草文件,指引你正确的方向,代表你在法庭上发言,并为你的听证会做准备。

作者介绍

Muntaz Binte Zainuddin
Muntaz Binte Zainuddin

Partner

Muntaz is a partner in I.R.B. Law and oversees the work of associates as well as manages the firm with the Managing Partner. She holds two degrees from the National University of Singapore.

× Available on Whatsapp

Overview Personal Protection Orders

Overview Personal Protection Orders

Introduction

Are you a victim of family violence? If you are, what can you do about it?

There are various types of protection you can apply for in Singapore against an abusive family member. In the Women’s Charter, family members can apply for a protection order for themselves or other family members (minors/incapacitated persons) against the abuser. The Court may even make a domestic exclusion order (to exclude a family member from home) in very serious cases.

Who is a family member?

“family member”, in relation to a person, means:

  1. a spouse or former spouse of the person;
  2. a child of the person, including an adopted child and a step-child;
  3. a father or mother of the person;
  4. a father-in-law or mother-in-law of the person;
  5. a brother or sister of the person; or
  6. any other relative of the person or an incapacitated person who in the opinion of the court should, in the circumstances, in either case, be regarded as a member of the family of the person;

What does family violence mean?

“family violence” means the commission of any of the following acts:

  1. wilfully or knowingly placing, or attempting to place, a family member in fear of hurt;
  2. causing hurt to a family member by such act which is known or ought to have been known would result in hurt;
  3. wrongfully confining or restraining a family member against his will; or
  4. causing continual harassment with intent to cause or knowing that it is likely to cause anguish to a family member,

but does not include any force lawfully used in self-defence, or by way of correction towards a child below 21 years of age;

What do I need to prove?

You will need to satisfy the Court on a balance of probabilities that family violence has been committed or likely to be committed against a family member and that it is necessary for the protection of the family member for a protection order to be made to restrain the person against whom the order is made from using family violence against the family member.

What are the steps to getting a PPO / EO / DEO?

Filing a Complaint

  • You have to firstly file a complaint in the Family Justice Courts or one of the Family Violence Specialist Centres. You are encouraged to submit your application online through iFAMS before coming as this will make the initial process shorter.
  • At this visit, you will be counselled by a Court Family Specialist who will provide you with the necessary information to ensure your safety. You will then be asked to appear before a Judge who will consider your application and ask you some questions on it. You will be asked to swear or affirm the contents of your application.
  • If everything is in order, the Judge will issue a summons to the alleged abuser to ask for his/her presence in Court at a future date. The Court may also at this time issue an Expedited Order (EO) where it deems that there is imminent danger of family violence being committed and that the order would be necessary for your protection pending the case being heard.
  • The Court will then serve the summons on the alleged abuser. There will be a nominal sum of $1.00.

Court process (first day)

  • The alleged abuser (who will be now called a Respondent) and you will be asked to attend Court on the same date. An officer of the Court will inform the Respondent of the contents of your complaint. If he/she admits and consents to your application, a PPO can be issued at the same date.
  • If the Respondent does not agree and/or consent to your complaint, the Court usually direct parties to attend counselling with a Court Family Specialist to determine if there can be a resolution. It is usually on the same day.
  • If the counselling is not successful to reach a resolution, parties will then be directed to an open Court (Court 1) to appear before a Judge. If you have engaged lawyers at this time, the lawyer will appear with you.
  • The Court will ask both parties if matters remain outstanding and if it does, the Court will give directions for parties to prepare for a trial which includes preparing statements/documents and number of witnesses. The Court will also give a return date for both parties to come prepared and exchange what has been directed. If you have an EO, the Court will also extend this EO to the next Court session.

Preparation for Trial

  • It is important for both parties to be represented by lawyers if you are unable to figure out how to prepare as the Court would want both parties to comply with directions when they attend the next Court session. This would entail the preparation of substantial documents/statements and witness list. A lawyer can help you draft these documents and also explain which witnesses may or may not be relevant.
  • Parties (with their lawyers if represented) will then attend the next Court session. In some cases, your lawyer may ask for a reply to the other parties’ affidavit if your lawyer deems it necessary. Your lawyer may also ask for an adjournment if we are awaiting more documents to support your case such as a medical report. In the event if there are more Court sessions, your lawyer may also ask for your attendance to be waived so that you do not have to come to Court till the date of the Trial.
  • Once the Judge is satisfied that parties are ready for the Trial with their statements/documents and witnesses, the Court will then fix the matter to be heard by another Judge. Parties should inform the Court at this time if they or their witnesses require interpretation at the Trial. This Judge will be the person to decide if the PPO/DEO application is successful.

Trial

  • Matter is usually fixed for a ½ day or 1-day Trial depending on the number of witnesses giving evidence for the matter.
  • Each of the parties and their witnesses will take the witness stand, together with their documents and swear or affirm their evidence. They will then be cross-examined on their evidence by the other side (and sometimes the Judge if he/she needs clarification). This can be a long and arduous process as each party tries to prove their case (either to obtain a PPO/DEO or to defend the application)
  • After the cross-examination is completed, the parties will make their arguments to the Court on whether the application should be granted.
  • If the parties are represented by lawyers, the cross-examination and the arguments to the Court will be conducted by their lawyers who will be familiar with the test required under the law to obtain or defend a PPO/DEO.
  • The Court will then make a decision on the application. This concludes the matter unless either party chooses to appeal the decision within 14 days of the Order.
  • If a PPO is granted, protection lasts till it is cancelled.

What happens if either party is absent from court?

If either party fails to turn up for their Court dates e.g. a mentions date, trial date, date for counselling session:

  • An absent applicant will have his/her application struck out.
  • An absent Respondent will have a warrant of arrest issued against him/her.

What happens if I breach the PPO/EO/DEO order?

A breach of PPO/EO/DEO will give rise to a criminal investigation and may result in a criminal charge. Depending on the seriousness of the breach, the person who breaches the order can be fined by the criminal courts or even sentenced to imprisonment terms.

Why might I want to consider a lawyer for these proceedings?

  • As seen above, the process can be tedious and arduous with the need to prepare documents and evidence to prove or disprove the application.
  • There will be attendances in open Court and this may be scary for some.
  • The Trial process is also daunting as it requires you to take the stand and be examined and cross-examined not just by the other side, but in some cases, the Judge. This can be especially scary if the other side is represented by lawyers.

A lawyer who is familiar with these types of work will help hold your hand through this, draft the documents for you, point you in the right direction, speak in Court on your behalf as well as prepare you for the Hearing.

About the author

Muntaz Binte Zainuddin
Muntaz Binte Zainuddin

Partner

Muntaz is a partner in I.R.B. Law and oversees the work of associates as well as manages the firm with the Managing Partner. She holds two degrees from the National University of Singapore.

In light of the current situation, please note that video and phone consultations are also available if you would prefer.
close-link
× Available on Whatsapp