新加坡关于强奸的法律

新加坡关于强奸的法律

新加坡强奸案逐年上升,最近关于英国三人的案件被判处5½至6½年有期徒刑以及每人5至8下鞭刑。2017年7月, Muhammad Iskander Ismail(28岁)因性侵和强奸一名青少年(19岁)被判处16年监禁和24下鞭刑。
Chan Seng Onn 法官在宣判时,向Iskander强调,要利用在狱中的时间,反省自己所做的事,并下定决心改变自己,在狱中学习一些技能,以便出狱后能在社会上发挥更大的作用。值得注意的是,在新加坡强奸是不被允许的,惩罚也很严厉。

新加坡关于强奸的法律

强奸定罪的规约载于《刑法》第375条。刑法规定,“任何男人未经妇女同意,用阴茎插入女性阴道(a);或(b)在她同意或不同意的情况下,当她未满14岁时,即属犯罪。”
此外,如果男子强奸或企图强奸女性,“(i)故意伤害;或者(ii)让她有死亡恐惧或伤害自己,“他将面临最高20年的监禁和至少12下鞭刑。
注意: 根据新加坡法律,如果女性在醉酒状态下,以至于她无法理解她所同意的性质和后果,则不视为同意。

男性能成为强奸的受害者吗?

根据《刑法》,男子不能成为强奸的受害者,因为根据《刑法》第375条,强奸的狭义定义是阴茎插入阴道。然而,根据《刑法》第376条,该罪犯将被判性侵犯罪名。

对男性的性侵犯

根据《刑法》376条,如果一名男性有非双方自愿的口交或手指或其他物品插入,将被认为是性侵入行为的受害者,这项法令也需要接受同样的惩罚。如果您是一名男性,曾遭受身体侵犯,请致电我们的律师,以便我们为您争取获得公平对待的机会,我们之间的对话都将严格保密。

妻子是否可能成为强奸的受害者?

在新加坡,根据《刑法》第375(4)条所述的情况下,可以判处强奸妻子罪。在新加坡,有许多妇女被迫进行性行为,但由于法律的性质,她们无法表达自己受到的虐待。
2016年6月,亚洲新闻频道(Channel News Asia)报道称,新加坡“正在‘积极努力’废除一项免除丈夫强奸妻子罪名的法律”,但随着2019年的临近,这项法律目前仍然有效。目前正在采取的一些行动,相信不久的将来会发生变化。

辩护

某些特定的因素可以帮助减轻罪犯的刑罚。

  1. 表示明显的悔意,例如如果罪犯在强奸/侵犯女性后立即道歉,Iskander在强奸这名年轻女性后道歉,但他的行为只是出于对入狱的恐惧,不过他空洞的道歉为他减少了几年的刑期。
  2. 罪犯的年龄,以及他改过自新的情况,都是法院在作出最终判决是需要考虑的因素
  3. 高龄:虽然罪犯的高龄通常不会减轻刑期,但法院确实会考虑长期监禁剥夺了老年人相当大一部分的生命。

上述法院对认罪减刑进行讨论,并认为应根据(a)认罪多大程度是后悔的信号;(b) 节省司法资源;(c)它多大程度上免去了受害者作证的痛苦。虽然法院可以接受向受害者道歉作为悔过的证据,但不能认为这是法院考虑判决时的重要因素。

新加坡关于强奸未遂的法律

根据《刑法》第511条规定,“凡企图犯下应受《刑法》惩罚的罪行,并在这种企图中对犯下该罪行作出任何行为的人,应因这种企图而受到该罪行所规定的惩罚。”
因此,在考虑强奸罪时,任何意图强奸某人并为此采取行动的人都可以受到与实际行凶者相同的惩罚。第375 (3)(b)条规定,犯有强奸罪的人可面临“不少于8年和不多于20年的监禁,并判以鞭刑不少于12下作为惩罚”。显然,后果是严重的。

新加坡如何处理强奸未遂的案件?

亚洲新闻频道的一篇报道详细描述了新加坡建筑工人Daler Singh如何因企图强奸被判4年零5个月监禁,以及4下鞭刑。受害者设法避开Singh,用手保护私处,并在事发后立即报警。
Singh在法庭上没有得到同情,检察官表示“女性说’不‘是不可剥夺的权利将永远受到法庭保护,任何试图践踏这一权利的罪犯都将面临严厉的惩罚。”虽然强奸和强奸未遂之间存在区别,但是法律严惩任何意图犯下这种罪行的人。

× Available on Whatsapp

Laws Surrounding Rape in Singapore

Laws Surrounding Rape in Singapore

Rape in Singapore has been on the rise, with one of the more recent incidents being the British trio who were sentenced to 5½ to 6½ years imprisonment and with each of them receiving between 5 to 8 strokes of the cane. In July 2017, Muhammad Iskander Ismail (28 years old) was sentenced to 16 years in prison and 24 strokes of the cane for sexually assaulting and raping a teenager (19 years old).

Upon delivering his verdict, Justice Chan Seng Onn stressed to Iskander to use the time behind bars to reflect on what he had done and resolve to change himself and to learn some skills in prison so that he could come out of prison and be more useful in society. It is important to take note that in Singapore, rape is deeply frowned upon and the punishment is severe.

The laws around rape in Singapore

The statute that criminalises rape is found within Section 375 of the Penal Code. The Penal Code states, “Any man who penetrates the vagina of a woman with his penis (a) without her consent; or (b) with or without her consent, when she is under 14 years of age, shall be guilty of an offence.”

Furthermore, if the man rapes or tries to rape the woman by “(i) voluntarily causes hurt to ; or (ii) puts her in fear of death or hurt to herself,” he will face up to 20 years in prison and 12 strokes at the very least.

Note: under Singapore law, consent is not deemed to be given if the woman is so intoxicated that she is unable to understand the nature and the consequence of what she is consenting to.

Can a man be a victim of rape?

Under the Penal Code, a man cannot be a victim of rape as rape is narrowly defined under S375 of the Penal Code as the penile penetration of a vagina. However, the offender would be found guilty under S376 of the Penal Code – Sexual Assault by Penetration instead.

Sexual assault of men

A man may be the victim of sexual penetration under S376 if there was non-consensual oral sex or finger/object penetration. This act carries the same penalties. If you are a man and have been subjected to bodily violation, call one of our understanding lawyers so we can give you the leverage you need to get fair treatment. All conversations on the matter will be held in strictest confidence.

[anchor_form]

Can someones wife be the victim of rape?

In Singapore, a man cannot be convicted of raping his wife unless the rape was committed in circumstances stated in S375(4) of the Penal Code. There are many women in Singapore who have sexual intercourse forced on them, but they are unable to voice the mistreatment because of the nature of the law.

In June 2016, Channel News Asia reported that Singapore “was ‘actively working towards’ repealing law that exempts husbands from being charged with raping their wives,” but as we approach 2019, it still currently remains. There is steps currently in progress that should change this situation shortly.

The Defence

There are some offender-specific mitigating factors that may help an offender lighten the penalty for their crimes.

  1. Display of evident remorse (e.g.) if the offender apologises right after he raped/assaulted the girl. Iskander apologised after raping the young woman, but he only did so out of fear of going to prison. Though his empty apology was not genuine, the act of saying sorry granted him a few years off of his time in prison.
  2. The age of the offender, and in turn his rehabilitation, is something the Court will weigh in the final jurisdiction.
  3. Advanced age: Although the advanced age of an offender is not a factor that would generally lighten a sentence, the Courts do mind that a long term in prison deprives an older person a sizable fraction of his life.

The Court of Appeal has discussed the mitigating value of a plea of guilt and deemed that it should be assessed in terms of (a) the extent to which it is a signal of remorse; (b) the savings in judicial resources; and (c) the extent to which it spared the victim the ordeal of testifying. while apologizing to the victim may be accepted by the court as evidence of remorse, it cannot be said that overwhelming weight would be attached to it, or a factor that the Court will take into account when sentencing the accused.

The law on attempted rape in Singapore

The intention is the main element here and is dealt with in Section 511 of the Penal Code. Section 511 of the Penal Code states, that “whoever attempts to commit an offence punishable by the Code and in such attempt does any act towards the commission of the offence, shall for the punishment of such attempt, be punished with such punishment as is provided for the offence.”

When considering the offence of rape, then, anyone that intends to rape someone, and takes action towards doing it, can be subject to the same penalties as someone who actually commits it. Section 375 (3) (b) states that, for the committal of rape, a perpetrator can face “imprisonment for a term of not less than 8 years and not more than 20 years and shall also be punished with caning with not less than 12 strokes.” The consequences, evidently, are severe.

How have actual attempted rape cases been dealt with in Singapore?

A Channel News Asia report detailed how Daler Singh, a construction worker in Singapore, was sentenced to four years and five months in jail, as well as 4 lashings of the cane, for attempting to rape a woman. The victim managed to ward Singh off, protecting her private parts with her hands, and shortly after the encounter notified the authorities.

Singh did not garner much sympathy in Court, the prosecutor stating that “a woman’s inalienable right to say ‘no’ will always be protected by the Courts and any offender who seeks to trample upon that right will face harsh penal consequences.” While the distinction between rape and attempt of rape is important, the law will lay down its fist on anyone with the intention of committing such a crime.

Consult a lawyer even if you have admitted to a crime

IRB Law Partner Muntaz Binte Zainuddin explains why you should always consider hiring a lawyer if you’ve admitted to a crime.

× Available on Whatsapp