收债人骚扰我,怎么办?

收债人骚扰我,怎么办?

概述

新加坡有很多追债公司利用骚扰和侮辱债务人的方式追讨债务。您需要了解的是,收债人并不享有特权,他们和其他人一样受同样的法律约束,因此,如果您被收债人骚扰,最直接的方式是报警。

例如2019年4月,一名注册的追债公司董事因涉嫌非法骚扰一名拖欠债务的52岁房地产经纪人,被判入狱并处以罚款

在很多情况下,律师事务所可以帮助您防止追债人对您进行骚扰。如果您正在面对上述情况,或正积极采取预防措施,请与我们联系,让我们为您提供帮助。

您的律师可与您商讨分期付款计划,或在银行是债权人的情况下,与其商议调低利率。帮助您想出可行的方法来偿还债务。我们也在下列情况为客户提供帮助:

  • 追债人谎报所欠金额,例如声称您欠债50,000新币,而实际金额为15,000新币;
  • 诽谤,例如当他们试图收取债务时,录下您的视频,然后发在社交媒体上;
  • 骚扰,使用违法手段追讨债务;
  • 入狱威胁,扬言若您不偿还债务必须坐牢。

更多追债公司的相关内容请继续阅读,如需帮助,请与我们联系。

[anchor_form]

新加坡追债人的行为守则

合法的追债公司遵循新加坡信贷收账协会(CCAS)的行为准则。信贷收账协会协助解决追债机构与债务人之间的争端,但信贷收账协会没有强制执行行为守则的权力。

追债公司不能做什么?

新加坡没有具体的法律规范追债公司。以下是他们不能做的:

非法集会

根据刑法第141条规定在新加坡如果5人或以上有共同目的或目标作出在该条例列表下的任何犯罪行为,将被视为“非法集会”,他们将会根据刑法第143条依法处罚。

恐吓和暴力

更详细的内容可以在防骚扰法案中了解。法案中主要是强调,任何人使用威胁、辱骂或侮辱性言语或行为,目的是向某人发出警告或使该人相信将对其实施暴力,这属于违法行为。

非法跟踪

如果追债人非法跟踪债务人,并在此过程中使债务人受到骚扰、惊吓或痛苦,如果追债人明知会造成此后果而继续进行该行为即为违法。

威胁使用暴力

追债人不得使用暴力威胁债务人还债。

破坏公物

如果追债人把油漆喷在您的墙上,甚至在您的房子张贴海报或贴纸,他们即触犯了破坏公物物罪。

骚扰

如果追债人不断地打扰、折磨或迫害您,他们即触犯了骚扰罪。

损坏或占有您的财物

很多追债人会试图让您相信,如果您不偿还债务,他们会把您的车拖走或者没收您的财产。但如果他们这样做需要提供新加坡法院出具的查封和出售令状,如果他们没有这份文件,他们是没有权利没收任何东西。

冒充政府机构

冒充任何政府机构(例如,新加坡内陆税收局或警察)是违法的。他们也不允许模仿政府网站,或者使用虚假的政府信笺来追讨债务。

In light of the current situation, please note that video and phone consultations are also available if you would prefer.
close-link
× Available on Whatsapp

Debt collectors are harassing me, what can I do?

Introduction

There are many cases in Singapore of debt collection agencies harassing and abusing debtors. It is important to know that debt collectors DO NOT enjoy special privileges, they are bound by the same laws as everyone else. If you are being harassed by debt collectors then the most obvious step to take is to call the police.

In April 2019 for example, a Director of a registered debt collection agency was jailed and fined for illegally harassing a 52-year-old real estate agent over alleged unpaid debts.

There are also many situations where a law firm can represent you in challenging or preventing debt collectors from causing you distress, and usually, these steps are extremely cost sensitive. If you are actively struggling with debt collectors or with to take preventative measures against them, please get in touch for a no obligation discussion and let us see if we can help you.

Your lawyer may be able to negotiate an instalment plan, or in cases where the bank is a creditor, help you to lower your interest rate. Hence, it is possible to come up with a manageable way to clear your debts. We have also supported various other clients in this area, particularly in cases such as:

  • Debt collectors incorrectly stating the amount owed, for example claiming that you owe $50,000 when in fact its $15,000.
  • Defamation, for example, video recording you as they attempt to collect a debt and then posting this on social media.
  • Harassment, breaking various laws in attempting to collect a debt.
  • Threatening jail, for example, telling you that you will go to jail if you don’t pay the debt, this is complete rubbish.

For further information around debt collection agencies, please read on, or for assistance please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Contact Us or call us on: +65 6298 2537

Code of conduct for debt collectors in Singapore

The legal debt collection agencies in Singapore are expected to follow the industry’s Code of Conduct which was set up by the Credit Collection Association of Singapore (CCAS). The CCAS assists the debt collection agencies and the debtors by attempting to resolve their disputes, but it is important to note that the CCAS does not have the power to enforce the code of conduct.

What can’t the debt collection agencies do?

The are no specific laws regulating debt collection agencies in Singapore. The following are areas that they cannot do:

Unlawful assembly

In Singapore if five (5) or more people who have the common intention or objective with any of the criminal conducts listed under section 141 of the Penal code were to assemble they would be considered as part of an “unlawful assembly”, and they would be punishable under section 143 of the penal code.

Intimidation and violence

The finer details are found within the Protection from Harassment Act. Primarily in the Act, it is against the law to use threatening, abusive or insulting words or behaviour with the aim of causing alarm to someone or causing that person to believe that immediate unlawful violence will be used against that person.

Unlawful stalking

If the debt collector unlawfully stalks the debtor and causes the debtor to be harassed, alarmed or distressed in the process and if the debt collector did so know that such an effect would have been caused he may be guilty of an offence.

Threatening physical violence

The debt collectors are not allowed to threaten the debtors with any violence for the repayment of the debt.

Vandalism

If the debt collector sprays paint on your walls, throws paint or even sticks any posters or stickers on your property, they would be guilty of vandalism.

Harassment

If the debt collector were to persistently disturb, torment, trouble or persecute you, they might be guilty of harassment.

Damaging or taking possession of your belongings

Many debt collectors will try to make you believe they can tow your car away or seize your property if you don’t pay up. However, to do so, they would need a Writ of Seizure and Sale from the Singapore Courts to seize your property. If they do not have this document, they have absolutely no legal rights to seize anything.

Impersonating government bodies

It’s illegal for debt collectors to pretend to be government agents, such as the IRAS or the Police. They are also not allowed to put up fake sites that mimic existing government agencies or to use fake government letterheads in their letters to recover the debts.