朋友和家人之间的借据和借款协议

朋友和家人之间的借据和借款协议

即使最亲密的朋友之间,无法偿还债务,尤其是大额债务,也可能是一个尴尬的话题。为了避免收回款项的困难,当借钱给朋友或家人时,可以考虑一份简单的借据。

什么是借据?

借据是一份非正式合同,规定了借款的必要细节,可以作为现金或其他产品债务的证据。

如何涉及大额资金,您可以要求为借款寻求担保,并将其明确写在借据中。例如,如果您的朋友宣布破产,您可能会要求收回她的资产作为偿还。如果您希望制定这样的协议,请联系律师,特别是当情况比较复杂之下。

虽然借据为非正式文件,但您仍需尽量专业,使其涵盖必要的细节,以下方面应该写入文件中:

  • 您的姓名
  • 收到贷款人的姓名
  • 借出的钱或物品的数量
  • 归还钱或物品的日期
  • 是否需要支付利息?如果需要,是多少?
  • 双方签字
  • 见证人签字

虽然看起来借据很容易起草,但很容易遗漏重要的细节,特别当情况变得复杂,这可能使收回债务变得更具挑战性。

借据有什么用?

不幸的是,我们看到很多债务追讨相关的案例,一个朋友借钱给另一个朋友,而另一个朋友没有履行协议里的条款。在这种情况下,他们可以向其发出索款通知书并要求他们立即偿还债务。

一份妥善的借款协议需要清楚地列出双方和见证人商议的所有内容,这是确保顺利收回债务的关键。

在新加坡我可以对债务收取利息吗?

只要遵循以下原则,您可以向朋友收取利息。

您需要证明您没有经营无牌照贷款业务。根据《放债人条例》(第188章)禁止无牌照放贷。该法第3部分规定“任何人借出一笔款项并考虑收回更大的款项,在有证据证明之前应该被推断为放债人。”

同样重要的是,双方就利息的支付金额达成一致后,应该把其写入借据里面,以明确表明借款人知道要支付的利息数额。这种协议模板可以是:“我同意X%的利率或法律允许的最高利率”。

由于2009年放债人条例和放债人准则里只对持有牌照的放债人有最高利息的限制,因此不适用于您的情况,所以利息的数额将取决于您和您的借款人的自由商议。

在新加坡使用借据作为证明借款可以持续多久?

借据只能在您作为提出诉讼的原因六年内使用。从本质上讲:

  • 如果设定了还款日期,而债务逾期未还,您必须在规定日期的六年内提出索赔;
  • 如果没有设定还款日期,6年期限应从此作为起诉理由时开始计算。

在第二种情况下,对于什么可以被认为是起诉理由可能存在歧义。如果你有疑问一定要咨询律师,确定六年的期限从什么时候开始。

什么是本票?

本票是一种更正式的文件,它规定了借款的细节。它会像借据一样记录借出的金额和债务人的身份,但会更详细说明:

  • 偿还债务所需的行动
  • 借款人面临的责任
  • 若未偿还欠款的后果

若您认为提前设定这些细节更好,那么在起草本票时,最好咨询一下律师的建议。

我可以起诉他们,让他们破产吗?

如果借款人为个人而非公司,他或她借款金额15,000新币或以上,那么您可以申请让他/她是破产。然而,这是一种极端的措施,只有在债务人根本不愿意偿还债务,但其名下仍有资产的情况才应考虑。

我们能帮助您吗?

如果您希望律师协助您起草借款协议,可以通过以下表格与我们联系,或致电+65 6298 2537 。如果您正在考虑采取法律行动追讨债务,我们在这方面也有丰富的经验,朋友和家庭成员之间的个人借款一般初始程序相对来说比较便宜。

In light of the current situation, please note that video and phone consultations remain fully available. Please contact us should you require any legal assistance. 
close-link
× Available on Whatsapp

IOUs & Loan Agreements Between Friends and Family

Failure to pay back debts, especially substantial ones, can be an awkward topic even among the closest of friends. To reduce any eventual difficulties in claiming back what you lent out, you should always take note of who the borrower is and know where you can take any future claim. One option to consider when lending money to friends or family members is a simple IOU loan agreement.

What is an IOU?

An IOU is an informal contract setting out the necessary details of a loan and may be used as evidence of a debt of money or other products lent.

If a large amount of money is involved, you may wish to seek security or collateral on the loan and include this explicitly in the IOU. For instance, you may wish to claim your friend’s assets as repayment should he be declared bankrupt. Please contact a lawyer if this is something you wish to set up, especially as securities can be particularly complicated.

While informal, you should still take steps to make it professional and covering all the necessary details. The following details should be written down on the document.

  • Your name
  • The name of the individual(s) received the loan
  • The amount of money lent or items loaned
  • When the money or the items should be returned
  • Is there any interest charged, and if so, how much
  • Each party’s signature
  • Each witness’s signature.

While it may appear that an IOU is easy to draft, it is important to note that essential details can be easily left out and this may make recovering the debt more challenging if the situation turns difficult.

How can an IOU help?

Unfortunately we have seen many cases of debt recovery where a friend has loaned money to another friend who has in turn failed to live up to the agreed terms. In these situations it would be normal to issue a letter of demand to the debtor and seek immediate action on their part to pay the debt.

A well drafted IOU agreement which clearly lays out the what was agreed, signed by both parties and witnesses acts as a perfect source for instigating a debt recovery process.

Can I Charge Interest on the Debt in Singapore?

It is possible to charge your friend interest, so long as you follow these guidelines.

You will need to prove that you do not run an unlicensed money lending business. Unlicensed money lending is prohibited under the Moneylenders Act (Cap 188), and section 3 of the Act states that “any person who lends a sum of money in consideration of a larger sum being repaid, shall be presumed, until the contrary in proven, to be a moneylender.”

It is also vital that both of you, the lender and borrower, agree on the amount of interest to be paid. This should be included in the IOU to make it clear that the borrower was aware of the amount of interest to be paid. A template for such a declaration could be: “I agree to an interest rate of X% or the maximum allowed by law.”

As the Moneylenders Act and Moneylenders Rules 2009 only state, the maximum chargeable interest for licensed moneylenders, such restrictions would not apply to you. As such, the amount of interest will be up to you and your borrower’s discretion.

How long can I use an IOU as evidence of a debt in Singapore?

An IOU can only be used within six years of a cause of action, or a reason for you to bring your case. Essentially:

  • If there is a repayment date set and the debt goes unpaid past that date, you will have to file a claim within six years of the stated date.
  • If there is no repayment date set, the six-year time limit will start from when there is a cause of action.

In the second case, there can be ambiguity as to what can be considered a cause of action. Do consult a lawyer to determine when the six-year time limit begins if you are in doubt.

What is a Promissory Note?

A promissory note is a more formal document that specifies the details of the loan. It takes note of the amount lent out and the debtor’s identity like an IOU would, but also goes a step further. It would typically detail:

  • Action(s) required for the repayment of debt
  • Any liability facing the borrower
  • Any consequences should the borrower fail to repay

If you believe setting these details in advance would be better, it would be advisable to consult a lawyer on what is achievable and recommended when drafting a promissory note.

Can I sue them and make them a Bankrupt?

If the person is an individual and not a company and he or she borrows S$15,000.00 or more, then you may be able to bring about a case of bankruptcy. However, this might be an extreme measure and should only be considered in extreme situations where the debtor is simply not willing to repay the debt but still has money and assets under their name.

How can we help?

If you would like a lawyer to draft a simple IOU agreement then please reach out to us via the form below, or give us a call on +65 6298 2537. If you are considering legal action to recovery a debt, this is also something we have significant experience in, and the initial steps for personal loans between friends or family members tend to be relatively inexpensive.