什么是遗嘱认证书?申请需要多久?

什么是遗嘱认证书?申请需要多久?

什么是遗嘱认证书?

当一个人去世后,而且在生前已立下有效遗嘱。被指定的遗嘱执行人(和信托人,若适用)需要向法院申请遗嘱认证书

但是如果死者生前没有立遗嘱,或者遗嘱无效,死者的直系亲属必须向法院申请遗产管理书

正如您将在以下的文章中看到复杂的申请程序,申请遗嘱认证书不是一个快速简单的过程。建议您聘请熟悉该程序的律师帮助您申请。

在哪里申请?

死者的遗产总值 哪个法庭
少于3百万新币 家事司法法庭
大于3百万新币 高等法院家事审判庭

如果死者没有在遗嘱中指定遗嘱执行人,法院将授予遗产管理书,并指定法院认为“最适合管理死者遗产”的人(根据《遗嘱认证和管理法案》第13条)。

由于申请遗嘱认证书中涉及很多文件,因此强烈建议寻求专业律师的帮助。此外,如果遗嘱认证书申请过程中引起争议,建议向本处寻求法律意见。

如何申请遗嘱认证书?

为您申请遗嘱认证书的律师会协助您办理以下手续:

预备步骤:准备申请文件

家事司法法庭网站提供申请遗嘱认证书的表格。具体文件如下:

a)原诉单方面传票

第一份所需的文件是原诉单方面传票。“单方面”的意思是没有其他人士参与申请,即遗嘱执行人是唯一申请人。

原诉传票可通过填写家事司法法庭指引附录A表格48申请。申请人须在本表格内提供下列资料:

  1. 死者的个人信息;
  2. 申请人信息;
  3. 诉求—“授予申请人遗嘱认证书”。

另外,申请人必须在原诉传票附上遗产有争议时中止发给管理证书的申请和遗嘱认证书申请的搜索证明(家事司法法庭指引表格52)。仅此证明已完成搜寻任何与死者遗产相关的遗嘱及遗嘱认证书申请,并无之前发现的遗嘱或遗嘱认证申请。

申请人亦须附上查询报告的电子副本,或任何遗产有争议时中止发给管理证书的申请或之前的遗嘱认证书的申请的搜素报告。

b)遗嘱认证书或遗产管理书的声明—表格51

第二份要求的文件是家事司法法庭指引表格51中的遗嘱认证书或遗产管理书的声明。申请须要提供死者、死者遗产及申请人的相关资料。所需资料如下:

  1. 死者的详细资料,死亡的相关信息以及住所(例如,死者生前居住的国家);
  2. 死者遗产的估值(确认总值—多于/少于3百万新币);
  3. 确认书—提交的遗嘱副本是遗嘱的核证副本(原件递交给家事司法法庭核实);
  4. 确认书—申请人是在遗嘱中指定的遗嘱执行人;
  5. 申请人是否在死者去世后6个月内提出申请(若否,请提供延误的理由)。

具体情况下,律师会向申请人索取上述资料,然后代申请人填写电子表格。

死亡证明—核证副本

申请人须向法院提交死亡证明的核证副本。法院核实遗产所有人是否被合法证明为死者。

对于不能提供死亡证明的申请人,可搜索死亡记录(若申请人不能记得死亡日期)或死亡摘要(若申请人可以提供死者全名、身份证和死亡日期)。申请人可以通过入境事务处或关卡局网站申请查询。

d)遗嘱—核证副本

拟提交的遗嘱副本需要附上封面页注明“本遗嘱为原件的核证副本(死者姓名、日期)”的证明文件。

在提交上述文件和遗嘱核证副本后,须要把原件于工作日下午4:30前递交给家事司法法庭。一旦法院核实遗嘱的真实性后,法院会把遗嘱原件退还给申请人或申请人的律师。

须要确保遗嘱是用英文书写的。如果遗嘱以其他语言完成,申请人须向法庭翻译员申请翻译(律师可以协助申请人)。法庭翻译员须在一份证明文件中对其翻译的准确性进行核实。

也存在下列例外情况:

  1. 如果遗嘱原件由外国法院保管,则允许提交遗嘱的核证副本;
  2. 如果遗嘱原件丢失,根据遗嘱认证和管理法案,如果遗嘱草稿和最终遗嘱看起来是一致的,可以提交遗嘱起草副本。这种情况下可能会引起争议,因此申请人最好寻求法律建议。

e)遗产有争议时中止发给管理证书的申请和遗嘱认证书申请的搜素;

在遗嘱认证书申请当日,申请人须同时搜素遗产有争议时中止发给管理证书的申请和遗嘱认证书申请。原诉传票须要附上搜素报告的电子副本(包括查询到存在的结果)。

第1步:提交申请

第1步包括填写以上文件提交给法庭。如果您聘请了律师,他或她将会通过eLitigation 系统以电子方式提交申请。如果遗嘱执行人在没有律师的情况下提出申请,他或她必须通过eLitigation服务中心柜台递交申请。

一旦申请人提交所有文件后,会生成一个临时的遗嘱认证书编号和一份项目清单。如上文所述,您的律师须在工作日下午4:30之前将遗嘱原件提交给家事司法法庭的遗嘱认证柜台。申请人须提供以下各环节中的文件。

第2步:提交辅助文件

a)管理宣誓书

遗嘱执行人或受托人申请遗产管理权时,应当向法院作出承诺,按照遗嘱分配遗产,用遗产的款项偿还死者的债务(《根据遗产认证和管理法案》第28条)。

如果您聘请了律师,您的律师将会为您按照家事司法法庭指引附录A表格54准备管理宣誓书,申请人须在宣誓官面前签署宣誓书,然后以电子方式在网站上提交表格。

b)辅助宣誓书

申请人须在提交管理宣誓书后两至三周内提交一份辅助宣誓书。律师会为您根据家事司法法庭指引附录A表格225准备辅助宣誓书,并在宣誓官在场下,由申请人签署宣誓书。

须在辅助宣誓书内出示的文件如下:

  • 声明(申请且被法院接受的);
  • 死亡证明核证副本和死者最后的遗嘱;
  • 资产明细表(请参阅下文)。

c)资产明细表

资产明细表是一份显示截止到死亡日期死者的财产和债务清单。

申请人应查清楚在死亡日期当日算起死者的财产(包括不动产和其他个人财产)的价值。

房产:包括死者的政府组屋或私人物业或持有部分股份的物业。

个人财产:除房产以外的所有财产。包括死者银行户口、定期存款户口及单位信托户口内的款项、股票及股份、保险单(须核对保单是否有注明分配给何人)、车辆、贵重珠宝及死者保险箱内的物品。请注意此表并非详尽无遗,申请人须咨询律师提供更详细的意见。

需要注意的是,死者公积金储蓄不包括在遗产内,若死者已提名受赠人,则公积金将分配给被提名的受赠人。然而,如果死者没有指定任何人继承公积金储蓄,则这笔款项将由公共信托人管理然后根据无遗嘱继承法法进行分配,根据家庭成员排名规则进行分配(根据《无遗嘱继承法》第7条)。

死者在国外的财产也应列入资产明细表内。

在确认死者资产后,申请人或申请人律师会根据家事司法法庭指引附录A表格226的规定,连同核对清单及辅助宣誓书通过eLitigation 入口提交申请。如果资产明细表作出修改,则须另行提出申请。

第3步:法院庭审

在提交申请以及宣誓书并被法院受理后,法院会通知申请人或申请人律师聆讯的日期及时间。

申请人的律师须出席遗嘱认证庭审,但有关的辅助文件,例如辅助宣誓书和资产明细表被提交并在庭审日前被采纳。在这种情况下,庭审可能会被取消。

第4步:补充宣誓书和资产明细申请表

如果申请人在申请初期未能确认死者的资产情况,可向律师申请协助,向有关金融机构致函。由于金融机构会要求申请人作出授权,律师会要求申请人签署授权书。

法院根据辅助宣誓书授予申请人“附带命令”,申请人或申请人律师可致函到有关金融机构,向他们索要有关死者的账户/股份/现金等详细资料。

申请人律师在取得相关资料后,便可代表申请人填写资产明细清单。申请人须在附有完整资产明细清单的补充宣誓书中签名。律师将两份文件通过eLitigation 入口提交。对资产清单的修改,应当另行提出申请。

第5步:授予遗嘱认证书

在法庭采纳补充宣誓书及资产清单后,并确认没有遗漏任何文件后,申请人的律师可要求授予遗嘱认证书。

最后的搜索是必要的,以确保死者没有遗产有争议时中止发给管理证书的申请或其它正在处理的遗嘱认证。请求授予遗嘱认证书是,必须提交最终搜索结果。

遗嘱执行人和/或受托人无须签署管理协议书,因为死者在遗嘱中已将其遗产托付给遗嘱执行人(及受托人)。

当所有文件提交完整以及支付所有相关费用后,法庭会授予遗嘱认证书,并附上资产明细表。申请人的律师将通过eLitigation入口收到电子版。

遗嘱执行人须缴付遗产税后,法院才会签发遗嘱认证书。遗产税适用于2009年2月15日前去世的人,而不适用于该日期及之后去世的人士。

申请人可以寻求律师帮助以取得加盖法院红章的认证书。遗嘱执行人(和/或受托人)在接收遗嘱认证书后,既可开始管理及分配死者的遗产。

我们可以为您提供什么帮助?

如果您能顺利完成申请那是最好的。申请遗嘱认证是一个漫长、乏味和复杂的过程。在这方面,如果能得到律师的帮助可以让申请变得事半功倍。IRB律师事务所拥有丰富的申请经验,并能以透明、合理的价钱为您提供相关服务。

× Available on Whatsapp

What is Probate and How Long Does it Take?

What is Probate and How Long Does it Take?

What is Probate?

After a person passed away with a valid Will, his or her executor(s) (and trustee(s), if applicable), who are appointed by the deceased as stated in his or her Will, has to apply to a court for a Grant of Probate.

However, if there is no Will created by the deceased, or the will is deemed invalid, the deceased’s next-of-kin has to make an application to the court for a Grant of Letters of Administration.

As you will see from the complex steps below, applying for a grant of probate is not a quick and simple process. It truly does make sense to hire a lawyer, who is familiar with the process to execute this on your behalf.

Where to file the application?

Gross Value of the Deceased’s Estate Which Court?
Less than $ 3 million Family Justice Courts
More than $ 3 million Family Division of the High Court

If the deceased did not appoint an executor in his or her Will, the court will grant the Letters of Administration with the Will annexed to the person(s) the court regards as “fittest to administer the deceased’s estate” (section 13 of the Probate and Administration Act).

Since there are many documents involved in the Grant of Probate application, it is highly recommended to seek professional legal assistance from a lawyer. In addition, if it is likely that the probate application will be contentious, it is highly advisable to seek this legal advice.

How do you apply for the grant of probate?

The lawyer who acts for you in the Grant of Probate application will assist you through the process as follows:

Preliminary step: Preparation of documents for application.

The Family Justice Courts’ website provides the application forms for the Grant of Probate. The documents are as follows:

a) Ex parte Originating Summons

The first document needed for the application is the ex parte originating summons. The meaning of “ex parte” is that there is no other party involved in the application, i.e. the executor(s) is the only applicant.

The Originating Summons can be filed by using Form 48 in Appendix A of the Family Justice Court Practice Directions (FJCPD). In this form, the applicant shall provide the information as follows:

  1. Deceased’s details
  2. Applicant(s)’s details
  3. The order requested – “Probate be granted to the Applicant(s)”

Furthermore, the applicant must attach a Certificate of Results of Caveat and Probate Application Searches in Form 52 of the FJCPD to the Originating Summons. This is to certify that a search for any caveat and probate application related to the deceased’s estate is completed and there is no prior caveat or probate application found.

The applicant shall also attach the digital copy of the search report summary or any positive search outcomes of a caveat or prior probate application.

b) Statement for Probate or Administration – Form 51

The second document required is the Statement for Probate or Administration in Form 51 of the FJCPD. The application is required to provide certain information related to the deceased, the deceased’s estate and the applicant(s). The information required is as follows:

  1. Deceased’s particulars, information regarding his or her death, and domicile i.e. the country that the deceased lives in before his or her death);
  2. The estimated value of the deceased’s estate (confirmation of the gross value – more/less than $ 3 million);
  3. Confirmation – copy of the Will filed is a certified true copy (CTC) of the Will (the original Will is submitted to the Family Justice Courts for verification);
  4. Confirmation – applicant(s) is appointed as an executor in the Will;
  5. Whether the application is filed within 6 months from the death of the deceased (if not, provide reason(s) for the delay).

In practice, a lawyer will obtain the above information from the applicant before filing in the electronic form on behalf of the applicant.

c) Death Certificate – Certified True Copy (CTC)

The applicant shall submit a certified true copy of the death certificate of the deceased to the court. The court verifies that the owner of the estate was legally certified as a deceased.

For the applicant who is unable to provide the death certificate, the applicant may do a search for a Death Record (if the applicant cannot remember the date of death) or apply for a Death Extract (if the applicant can provide the deceased’s full name, NRIC and date of death). The applicant can apply for these searches on the online extracts portal of the Immigration and Checkpoints Authority.

d) Will – Certified True Copy (CTC)

The certified true copy of the Will to be filed shall consist of the certification: “This is a certified true copy of the original will of (name of the deceased) dated (date)” on a cover page that will be attached to the CTC of the Will.

Subsequent to the filing of the aforesaid documents and the CTC of the Will, the original Will shall be filed to the Family Justice Courts’ Probate Counter before 4:30 pm during working days. Once the court verifies the Will’s authenticity, the court will return the original Will to the applicant or the applicant’s lawyer.

The applicant should also make sure that the Will is written in English. If the Will was written in any other languages, the applicant shall apply for a translation by the court translator (a lawyer will be able to assist the applicant in this). The court translator is required to verify the accuracy of his or her translation in a supporting affidavit.

However, there are exceptional situations as follows:

  1. If the original Will is in the foreign court’s custody, it is permissible to submit a CTC of the Will instead of the original Will.
  2. If the original Will is lost, the Probate and Administration Act specifies that a draft copy of the Will may be submitted if both the draft and final Will are appeared to be identical. Such a circumstance may lead to contest and thus it is highly advisable for the applicant to seek for legal advice.

e) Caveat & Probate Search

On the day of the probate application, applicant shall conduct a search on both the records of caveats and probate applications. A digital copy of the search report (including the results of a positive search, if any) must be attached to the original summons.

Step 1: Main Application Submission

The main application involves filing the aforesaid documents in court. If you engage a lawyer, he or she will file the application electronically using the eLitigation portal. If an executor(s) intends to apply without a lawyer’s help, he or she is required to apply via the eLitigation Service Bereaus’ counters.

Once the applicant has file all the documents, a provisional probate case number and a checklist of items will be generated. As stated above, your lawyer is required to submit the original Will to the Probate Counter at the Family Justice Courts by 4:30pm on the next working day. Then, the applicant is required to provide the supporting documents as explained in the sections below.

Step 2: Supporting Documents Submission

a) Administration Oath

The executor or trustee who applies for the right to administer the deceased’s estate shall give an undertaking to the court that he or she will distribute the estate according to the deceased’s instructions in the final Will. The executor shall pay the deceased’s debts using the estate’s monies (section 28 of the Probate and Administration Act).

If you engage a lawyer, your lawyer will prepare the Administration Oath with Form 54 in Appendix A of the Family Justice Court Practice Directions (FJCPD).  The applicant should sign the Administration Oath in the presence of a Commissioner for Oaths, after that the Administration Oath is filed electronically on the eLitigation portal.

 b) Supporting Affidavit

The applicant shall file a Supporting Affidavit within the deadline i.e. within 2 to 3 weeks from the filing of the Administration Oath. A lawyer will prepare for the applicant a Support Affidavit (Form 225 in Appendix A of the FJCPD) and  in the presence of the Commissioner for Oaths, the applicant signs the Supporting Affidavit.

The documents that are required to be exhibited in the Supporting Affidavit are as follows:

  • Statement (filed and accepted by the Court)
  • The CTC of the Death Certificate and deceased’s Last/Final Will
  • Schedule of Assets (please refer to the section below)

c) Schedule of Assets

The Schedule of Assets is a list that reveals all deceased’s properties and debts in Singapore as at the date of death.

The applicant shall find out the values of deceased’s properties (both real estate and other personal properties) as at the date of death.

Real estate: deceased’s HDB flat or private property or part-share in a flat or property.

Personal property: any other property beside real estate. It may include the deceased’s monies in bank account(s), fixed deposit account(s) and unit trust account(s), stocks and shares, insurance policy (necessary to check whether the policy is assigned to anyone), vehicle(s), costly jewellery and items in the safe deposit box of the deceased. Please take note that this list is not exhaustive and the applicant shall consult his or her lawyer for detail advice.

It is important to note that, savings in the deceased’s CPF accounts are excluded from the Estate. If the deceased had nominated someone to inherit the CPF monies, the CPF monies shall be distributed to the deceased’s nominee(s). However, if the deceased did not nominate anyone to inherit the savings, the deceased’s monies will be distributed by the Public Trustee under the laws of intestacy – to be inherited by the family members who rank according to the distribution rules (section 7 of the Intestate Succession Act).

The deceased’s property at abroad shall be listed in the Schedule as well.

After the deceased’s assets are confirmed, the applicant or the applicant’s lawyer will file to the eLitigation portal, the Schedule of Assets in pursuant to Form 226 in Appendix A of the FJCPD, along with the checklist and the Supporting Affidavit. If there is any amendment to the Schedule of Assets, a separate application is required.

Step 3: Court Hearing

Subsequent to the filing and acceptance of the application and the Administration Oath, the court will notify the applicant or the applicant’s lawyer regarding the hearing date and time.

The applicant’s lawyer shall attend the probate hearing except the supporting documents i.e. Supporting Affidavit and Schedule of Assets are filed and accepted by the court prior to the hearing date. In this situation, the court may cancel the hearing.

Step 4: Supplementary Affidavit and Schedule of Assets Submission

If the applicant cannot confirm the details of the deceased’s assets during early stage of the application process, the applicant may get assistance from the lawyer to write to the relevant financial institutions. Since the financial institutions will demand an express authorisation from the applicant/executor(s), the lawyer will request the applicant/executor(s) to sign a Letter of Authorisation.

The court, based on the Support Affidavit, grant an ‘Order-in-Terms’ of the probate application. Then, the applicant or the applicant’s lawyer can write to the relevant financial institutions to obtain from them the detailed information about the deceased’s outstanding accounts/shares/monies.

After the applicant’s lawyer has obtained the relevant information, he or she can then fill in the Schedule of Assets on behalf of the applicant. The applicant will be requested to sign the Supplementary Affidavit exhibits the complete Schedule of Assets. The lawyer will file these two documents on the eLitigation portal. Any amendment to the Schedule of Assets shall be filed separately (another application).

Step 5: Grant of Probate Extraction

After the court accepted the Supplementary Affidavit and Schedule of Assets as well as confirmed that there are no documents being left out, the applicant’s lawyer is allowed to request for extracting the Grant of Probate.

A final search is required in order to make sure that there are no caveats lodged against the deceased’s estate or any pending application related to the deceased’s estate. Submission of the final search result is necessary for requesting the extraction.

The Executor(s) and/or Trustee(s) is not required to sign an Administration Bond as the deceased had in his final Wil, entrusted his or her estate to the Executor(s) (and Trustee(s)).

Once all the documents are in order and all relevant fees are paid, the court will prepare and issue the Grant of Probate with the Schedule of Assets attached. The applicant’s lawyer will receive an electronic copy via eLitigation portal.

The court will not issue a Grant of Probate unless the Executor(s) (and trustee(s)) has paid the deceased’s inheritance tax which is applicable to persons who passed away prior to 15 February 2009 and not on or after that.

The applicant may seek his or her lawyer’s assistance to get a Paper Grant with the Court’s red seal on it. Once the Executor(s) (and Trustee(s)) received the Grant of Probate, he or she may start to manage and distribute the deceased’s estate.

How can we help?

If you managed to make it this far, well done. Applying for a Grant of Probate is a long, tedious and complicated process. It is best to get a lawyer’s help in this matter to ensure you have a smooth and less burdened journey in Grant of Probate application. I.R.B Law has plenty of experience in this process and offers transparent and affordable fees to handle the process for you.

× Available on Whatsapp