新加坡通奸相关法律

新加坡通奸相关法律

通奸在新加坡定义为已婚人士与非配偶之间的自愿性行为。根据“婚姻不可挽回地破裂”,这可作为申请离婚的合法理由。由于通奸的指控可能是不真实的,因此新加坡法院强调清晰的证据,证明您的配偶有不忠的行为。

这要求您的配偶承认通奸或有无可辩驳的证据证明对方有外遇。一般情况下,您必须在知道配偶有不忠行为6个月内提出离婚。

如果您发现您的配偶不忠,您要先让自己冷静下来,并了解哪些事情是不应该做的。不要被恐惧、愤怒和仇恨的情绪控制并做出违法的事情。

本文将教您如何防止做出破坏最终判决的错误行动。不管您最后的决定是选择离开您的配偶或挽救婚姻,采取错误的行动会使情况变得更糟糕。

不要蓄意伤人

2013年发表于《海峡时报》的一篇文章中,社工Terence Yow采访了227名在得知配偶不忠后到咨询中心和家庭服务中心寻求帮助的人。在他研究的对象中,妻子出轨的男性几乎占到了四分之一。

他的发现与离婚律师和婚姻咨询师几乎一致,越来越多妻子被发现有外遇。许多人在怀疑伴侣不忠的情况下平均生活两年以上。Yow医生认为这表明很多人试图自己处理他们的痛苦,只有当无法忍受时才寻求帮助。在接受调查的人中,超过80%的人对配偶婚外情感到“极度痛苦”,他们感到抑郁,甚至有自杀的想法。然而,也有少数人使用更极端的手段。

例如,23岁的Aloysius Tang Bo Hui 因怀疑妻子有外遇与其发生激烈的争执,当面质问妻子并用拳头攻击她。2017年11月28日,这名23岁的男子因承认殴打妻子的枕部、下颌、腹部和手臂被判监禁6周。

蓄意伤人的惩罚

根据《刑法》第319条,“伤害”定义为“身体疼痛、疾病或虚弱”,这项指控可以在多种情况下产生,例如用物体击打他人造成身体疼痛,或者推人,导致他人摔倒受伤。

然而蓄意伤人和蓄意伤人造成严重伤害是不同的罪行,两者的区别是造成伤害的严重程度。

如被判故意伤害罪,最高刑罚为监禁两年及/或罚款5,000新元。但是,如果被告能证明伤害是由挑衅引起的,则刑罚较轻,包括监禁3个月和/或罚款2,500新元。然而,婚外情不构成挑衅。

《刑法》还规定了蓄意伤人和蓄意伤人造成严重伤害的不同类型,例子如下。

不要威胁或试图谋杀您的配偶

在Aloysius Tang的案件中,第二项威胁杀害她的指控在判刑时被考虑在内。案情透露,Tang于4月26日下午10时30分左因妻子发生婚外情两人发生激烈争执。在争执中,他用拳头攻击她的枕部和下颌。

当她试图爬上床躲避他时,他仍继续攻击她身体的其他部位,当她打开房门并试图离开时,他用力把门关上,当她再次尝试开门时,他拉着她的手把她从门口拉开,用华语说如果她再次尝试开门,他就杀了她。

除了威胁伤害配偶外,蓄意使用危险武器或其他手段造成伤害可能导致最高7年的监禁和/或罚款和/或鞭刑。这类惩罚的任何组合都是可能的,这里的“危险武器或手段”包括:

  • 射击、刺或切割的工具(如刀或剪刀);
  • 用做犯罪时可能导致死亡的工具;
  • 使用火或然后热的物品(例如用开水烫人);
  • 使用任何爆炸性物质;
  • 使用任何吸入、吞咽或注入血液的有害物质(如粪便或尿液);
  • 使用动物(例如放出危险的动物)

因故意使用危险武器或方法造成严重伤害的,根据伤害的程度不同,判罚不同,可以判处终身监禁或15年以下有期徒刑外加罚款或鞭刑。

毒害您的配偶

在去年一宗具有争议的案件中,39岁的律师Fred Auston Wortman,在妻子的牙膏中加入一种被称为乌头的植物毒药。其中毒机制是该药对心肌的直接作用,用量稍大即可导致心律失常,甚至引起室颤而死亡。Fred最后被判30年监禁,10年后有假释机会。

在新加坡,如果因故意使用毒药造成伤害而被判有罪,最高可判处10年监禁,还可能处以罚款或鞭刑。根据《刑法》,“毒药”包括任何毒药或“任何使人昏迷、中毒或不健康的药物或其他东西”。

挑衅作为辩护

您的配偶有外遇不足以构成挑衅。挑衅行为辩护完全取决于具体的案件,同时新加坡法院采取两个阶段的考量决定该案件是否可使用挑衅作为辩护。

  1. 被告必须证明他被挑衅导致失去自控能力(这一项是主观的,取决于具体的案件);和
  2. 挑衅应该是“严重而突然的”,包括使用相关测试(客观的)

被告是否被剥夺自控能力通常取决于每个案件的具体事实。法院将决定被告是否确实因挑衅而失去自控力。

至于挑衅的严重程度,法院将采用客观的测试来确定。理性的被测试人,与被告有相同的背景,若其认为挑衅是严重的,那么挑衅可能成立。

仅仅因被告易于失控的性格特点,而非挑衅的严重程度导致攻击将不会纳入考虑当中,为了避免那些“异常好斗、脾气暴躁和过于敏感”的人反应过度而做出攻击行为。

我们能提供怎样的帮助?

如果面对不诚实的配偶不要鲁莽行事,建议您寻求朋友和家人的帮助,或寻求法律代表办理离婚。我们提供首次免费咨询。

× Available on Whatsapp

Adultery Law in Singapore

Adultery in Singapore is defined as the voluntary sexual intercourse between a married person and someone who is not his/her spouse. It can be leveraged as a legitimate reason for filing for divorce, under the grounds of ‘irretrievable breakdown of marriage’. Due to the fact that claims of adultery could indeed be untrue, the Singapore courts will place a heavy emphasis on seeing clear proof that your spouse has been unfaithful.

Typically this would require your spouse to admit to the claim of adultery or irrefutable evidence that the other party has been having an affair. Generally speaking, you must apply for divorce within 6 months of becoming aware of the other parties infidelity.

If you have recently discovered that your spouse is cheating on you. Before wrestling with that decision, focus first on what you should not do. Most people allow fear, anger, hurt, or a desire for revenge overwhelming them to do things they later regret; things that may be against the law.

This article will keep you from making a mistake that could sabotage the course of action you eventually decide to take. Regardless of whether you choose to leave your spouse or salvage the marriage. Doing the wrong thing at the outset will only make a bad situation worse.

Don’t – Voluntarily cause hurt

In an article published in The Straits Times in 2013, Social worker Terence Yow interviewed 227 individuals who sought help at counselling centres and family service centres after learning that their spouses were unfaithful. Men with cheating wives made up almost one in four of those he studied.

His finding supports observations by divorce lawyers and marital counsellors who are seeing more men with unfaithful wives. Many lived with suspicions of infidelity for an average of almost two years. Dr Yow said this shows that people try to cope with their pain on their own and seek help only when they cannot bear it anymore. He found that more than 8 in 10 of those surveyed were “severely distressed” by the spouse’s affair, were depressed or even had suicidal thoughts. A certain few, however, resort to darker means.

For example, 23-year-old Aloysius Tang Bo Hui confronted his wife and punched her all over her body during a heated dispute upon the suspicion of an extra-marital affair. On November 28, 2017, the 23-year-old was jailed for six weeks after he admitted to punching his wife, 20, in the back of her head, jaw, buttock, abdomen and arm.

The potential penalties for voluntarily causing hurt

“Hurt” is defined in section 319 of the Penal Code as “bodily pain, disease or infirmity”. The charge can arise in a variety of situations, such as hitting somebody with an object and causing physical pain or pushing somebody, causing them to fall and get hurt.

Voluntarily causing hurt is a different offence, however, from voluntarily causing grievous hurt, which is codified in section 322. The distinction between the two offences is that grievous hurt is a more severe form of hurt.

If found guilty of voluntarily causing hurt, the punishment is imprisonment up to 2 years and/or a fine up to S$5,000. However, if the defendant can prove that the hurt was voluntarily caused by provocation, the punishment will be less severe, consisting of imprisonment up to 3 months and/or fine up to S$2,500. An affair, however, will not constitute a provocation.

The Penal Code also sets out different types of voluntarily causing hurt and voluntarily causing grievous hurt; with examples set out below.

Don’t – Threaten to or try to murder your spouse

In Aloysius Tang’s case, a second charge of threatening to kill her was taken into consideration in sentencing. The court heard that Tang confronted his wife over her extramarital affair at about 10.30pm on April 26, and they got into a heated argument. During the dispute, he used his fist to punch her in the back of her head and her jaw.

When she tried to avoid him by climbing onto the bed, he punched her in various parts of her body. When she left the room and tried to leave, he slammed the main door closed. She tried again, but he pulled her arm to drag her away from the door. He said in Mandarin that he would kill her if she tried to open the door.

Apart from threatening to kill one’s spouse, voluntarily causing hurt by dangerous weapons or means could lead to imprisonment up to 7 years and/or a fine and/or a caning. Any combination of such punishments is possible. Here, “dangerous weapons or means” could include:

  • An instrument for shooting, stabbing or cutting (e.g. a knife or a pair of scissors)
  • A device which is likely to cause death when used as a weapon of offence
  • Using fire or any heated substance (e.g. scalding someone with boiling water)
  • Using any explosive substance
  • Using any substance which is harmful to inhale, swallow or be injected into the blood (e.g. faeces or urine)
  • Using an animal (e.g. letting out a dangerous animal)

If found guilty of voluntarily causing grievous hurt by dangerous weapons or means, the penalty is different due to the more severe nature of grievous hurt where punishment can go up to imprisonment for life or imprisonment up to 15 years with a fine or caning.

Poisoning your spouse

In a controversial case in the United Kingdom last year, lawyer Fred Auston Wortman, 39, poisoned his wife’s toothpaste with a plant-based toxin called Aconitum. In a more substantial amount, it can in fact fatally paralyse the heart. Fred was sentenced to 30 years in prison with the chance of parole after 10 years without formally admitting guilt.

In Singapore, if found guilty of voluntarily causing hurt using poison with intent to commit an offence, the punishment is imprisonment of up to 10 years and perhaps a fine or caning. “Poison” here includes any poison or “any stupefying, intoxicating or unwholesome drug or other things”, according to the Penal Code.

Provocation as a defence

Your spouse having an affair may not constitute enough of defence for provocation. The defence of provocation is entirely dependent on the facts of each case. It is also important to note that the Singapore Courts employ a 2 stage test to consider if the test for provocation can be successfully applied.

  1. The accused has to prove that he was deprived of his self-control by provocation (this is a subjective requirement which turns on the facts of each case); and
  2. The provocation should have been “grave and sudden”, involving the application of the reasonable man test (an objective requirement)

Whether an accused person is deprived of self-control normally depends on the specific facts of each case. The court will decide if the accused had indeed lost his/her self-control as a result of the provocation.

As for the gravity of provocation, the court will use an objective test to determine it. If the provocation was one that the reasonable man, having the same background as the accused, would find grave, then the defence of provocation is likely to be made out.

However, the individual peculiarities of the accused that merely affected his power of self-control, but not the gravity of the provocation will not be taken into account. This is to ensure that the provocation defence is denied to people who overreact simply because they are “exceptionally pugnacious, bad-tempered and over-sensitive.”

How can we help?

If faced with a cheating spouse, do not act recklessly. You may wish instead to seek support from friends and family or seek legal representation to file for divorce. Our first consultation is free.

Was this article helpful?
Dislike 0
Views: 1538