新加坡债务偿还方案 (DRS)

新加坡债务偿还方案 (DRS)

自2009年以来,《新加坡破产法》的修订条款以债务偿还方案(DRS) 的形式为破产程序提供了另一种选择。这项新的条款允许债务人可以在保留财产的同时还清债务,并能够在不受破产的影响下从事商业活动和交易。

通常情况下,申请破产以及破产令会使债务人和债权人的债务索赔过程中止到不同的领域。通常破产会会收回债务人除了有限资金和基本生活用品以外的所有财产,将其安置于公众监督之下,并限制例如旅行以及经营企业的权利。对债权人而言,由于诉讼成本高,而且大多数情况下无法收回全部债务,因此债务人申请破产对债权人来讲并不是一个理想的处境。

有鉴于此,对于债务人和债权人来讲,通常代替破产的方案会更好地解决问题,并允许分阶段的回收债务而不会给双方造成高额损失。新加坡的债务偿还方案是监督良好的可用替代方案之一,适合用于有效的偿还债务。

什么是债务偿还方案 (DRS)?

破产的代替方法

在新加坡,债务偿还方案是多种代替破产的方法之一,在法院指定的受让人的监督下实行合理的偿还债务方案。与破产不同,就以债务偿还方案而言,受让人不会接管债务人财产的所有权,也不会清算该财产以支付给债权人。在债务偿还方案之下,由受让人来评估债务人的资格,以及监督和控制,监督付款以及法律规定的其他要求。

谁有资格?

满足以下要求的债务人可以使用新加坡的债务偿还方案:

  • 债务金额不超过 $100,000。
  • 在评估债务人有权使用债务偿还方案的时候,债务人应持有收入。
  • 债务人不是未清偿的破产人,并且在使用债务偿还方案之前的5年内没有宣布破产。
  • 到申请债务偿还方案为止的过去5年内没有与债务人相关的自愿安排,或是债务偿还计划。
  • 债务人不是企业的唯一所有者(独资所有人)或合伙企业的合伙人。

在债务偿还方案下完成债务偿还

如果债务人已满足了还款计划的所有要求并还清了所有债务,债务人会收到授权人的完成证书。完成证书可证明债务偿还方案下的所有债务已全额还清。

必须指出的是,如果授权人有理由相信债务人虚假陈述,或是没有完成协议里所有的要求,则授权人可以撤销完成证书。在这种情况下,吊销后并出具不合格证明。该证明可以作为针对新破产程序的依据。

为什么债务偿还方案可以更好的代替破产?

与破产相比,债务归还方案具有以下主要区别:

债务偿还方案 破产
债务人仍然是其财产的所有者。 受让人拥有除了生活必需品以外的所有债务人财产的所有权(例如,政府组屋)。例如,电脑和电视不被视为必需品。
债务人根据债务偿还方案的计划定期付款来偿还债务。 受让人出售财产并将收益分配给债权人。
债务偿还方案的费用低,其中包括受让人收取1.5%的手续费和3%的资金分配费用。 新加坡的破产程序费用远高于债务偿还方案。
大多数情况下,债务人偿还债务。 大多数情况下,当债务人宣布破产时,债权人无法收回大部分债务。
通常情况下,债务人有权旅行,但须通知受让人。 通常情况下,除非通过受让人的许可,否则债务人禁止离开新加坡。
债务偿还方案下的债务人允许从事商业活动。 通常债务人禁止管理企业。
债务人不被视为破产。 债务人公开宣布破产。

怎样申请债务还款计划?

债务偿还方案以与破产相同的方式启动。从债务人本人或债权人提出破产申请开始。只有在申请破产时才可以启动债务偿还方案。

同时,对于经法院审查的那些破产案例并选择了债务偿还方案的债务人来说,他们可以将破产申请延迟6个月,受让人将在6个月内审查债务人的申请资格。

申请破产和债务偿还方案的所需清单,包括 法律部 网站上的以下文件:

  • 债务人/债权人的破产破产申请,
  • 宣誓书,核实事态陈述,
  • 事务声明,
  • 宣誓书证明文件,
  • 债务偿还方案,
  • 债务人的证明文件.

在受让人根据资格标准评估债务人的申请后,受让人将审查还款计划并以面对面会议的方式提交给债务人和债权人。批准后,该计划对债务人有法律性的约束力,任何违规行为都可能触发证书的失败签发和重新启动破产程序。

债务偿还方案重要事项

与破产相比,债务偿还方案为债务人提供了相当大的自由,包括运营企业的权利,同时仍旧拥有财产和资产。但是,债务偿还方案也有一定的限制来确保将债务全额还清,必须遵守限制条规以避免失去债务偿还的身份和启动新的破产程序。

根据债务偿还方案清算债务与奥考虑的主要因素之一就是揭露所有财产,并向受让人提供准确指出和损失报告。任何认为的增加损失或瞒报本地和海外资产的做法都可导致签发失效证明。

申请债务偿还方案必须遵守的其他事项包括:

  • 遵守计划和按时付款,
  • 与受让人合作,提供法律要求的文件,
  • 如有影响还款能力的任何个人情况的变动,及时通知受让人,
  • 告知受让人住所以及联系方式,
  • 与受让人和债权人一起参加会议,
  • 满足债务偿还方案规定的对债务人所有其他法律要求.

总结

虽然新加坡债务偿还方案和 破产 程序都从破产申请开始,对于那些希望偿还债务的同时保留财产,公共形象和权利的人群,前者可能是一个更好的选择。债务偿还方案对于那些有机会收回欠款的债权人来说也会是一个更好的选择。

对于那些愿意受益于新加坡债务偿还方案以及寻找其他代替破产方式的人群,应咨询经验丰富的破产律师,了解更多关于如用最适合的方式来恢复财务状况的同时保留其财产和权力。

作者介绍

Mohamed Baiross
Mohamed Baiross

Founding Partner

Baiross is the managing partner of IRB Law LLP. He is an experienced lawyer with an excellent reputation across a broad selection of practice areas including divorce, insolvency, crime, probate, syariah, and civil litigation.

× Available on Whatsapp

Debt Repayment Scheme (DRS) in Singapore

Debt Repayment Scheme (DRS) in Singapore

Since 2009, the revised provisions of the Singapore Bankruptcy Act granted another alternative to bankruptcy proceedings in the form of the Debt Repayment Scheme (DRS). This new arrangement allowed debtors to repay their debts while keeping possession of their property and being able to engage in business activities and transactions without becoming bankrupts.

Ordinarily, an application for bankruptcy and an order for bankruptcy suspends the debt recovery process into a different realm for both the debtor and the creditor. Generally, bankruptcy deprives debtors of all of their property except for the limited possessions and essential living items, placing them under public scrutiny and limiting other rights such as the right to travel or manage a business. For creditors, their debtors’ bankruptcy is not the best outcome either due to the high cost of proceedings and the inability to recover the full amount of debts in most cases.

In this light, the alternatives to bankruptcy can often be a better solution for both debtors and creditors, allowing for a phased recovery of debt without placing a high toll on the parties. The Debt Repayment Scheme in Singapore is one of the well-regulated, available alternatives which can be used for effective debt repayment.

What is the Debt Repayment Scheme (DRS)?

An Alternative to Bankruptcy

The Debt Repayment Scheme is one of several alternatives to bankruptcy in Singapore, constituting a plan for debt repayment under the supervision of the Official Assignee (OA) appointed by the Court. Unlike bankruptcy, in the case of DRS, the Official Assignee does not take over the title to debtors’ property and does not t liquidate the same to pay to the creditors. Under the DRS, the OA carries out the assessment of eligibility of the debtors as well as supervisory and controlling functions, monitoring payments and fulfillment of other requirements under the law.

Who is Eligible?

DRS in Singapore is available to those debtors who meet the following requirements:

  • The amount of debt does not exceed $100,000.
  • The debtor should be employed at the time of the assessment of suitability for the DRS.
  • The debtor is not an undischarged bankrupt and was not declared bankrupt 5 years before DRS.
  • There have been no voluntary arrangements or debt repayment schemes related to the debtor within the past 5 years up to the moment of applying for DRS.
  • The debtor is not the sole owner of a business (sole proprietor) or a partner in a partnership

The Completion of Debt Repayment under DRS

If the debtor has fulfilled all the requirements of the Repayment Scheme and repaid all the debts, the debtor receives the Certificate of Completion from the Official Assignee which ends the DRS period. The Certificate of Completion serves as proof that all debts under DRS were repaid in full.

It must be noted that the Certificate of Completion can be revoked should the OA have grounds to believe that the debtor made false representations or did not make all required disclosures to the OA. In such a case, the revocation will be followed by the issuance of Certificate of Failure which can will serve as grounds for new bankruptcy proceedings against the debtor.

Why the Debt Repayment Scheme Can Be a Better Alternative to Bankruptcy?

When compared to bankruptcy, DRS has the following main differences:

Debt Repayment Scheme Bankruptcy
The debtor remains the owner of their property. The OA receives the title to all debtor’s property except for a limited number of essential items necessary for living (e.g. HDB flats). For example, computers or TV are not considered essential items.
The debtor covers their debts by regular payments according to the DRS plan. The Official Assignee sells the property and distributes the proceeds to the creditors.
The costs of DRS are much lower, including a 1.5% fee to OA for collection and 3% for distributing the funds. The costs of bankruptcy proceedings in Singapore are much higher than those of DRS.
In most cases, debtors repay their debts. In the majority of situations when debtors are declared bankrupt, creditors are unable to recover a substantial part of the debts.
In a general case, debtors have the right to travel subject to notifying the OA. In a general case, debtors are forbidden to leave Singapore except with the permission of the OA
Debtors under DRS are allowed to engage in business activities. Generally, bankrupt debtors are prohibited from managing a business.
The debtors are not considered bankrupt Debtors’ bankruptcy is publicly announced.

How to Apply for Debt Repayment Scheme?

The DRS is initiated in the same way as bankruptcy. It starts after filing for a bankruptcy application either by debtors themselves or by their creditors.  It is impossible to apply for DRS without starting the bankruptcy proceedings.

At the same time, those debtors who have their bankruptcy case reviewed by the court and who opt for the DRS scheme can apply to have the bankruptcy proceedings adjourned for the period up to 6 months while their DRS application is reviewed for eligibility by the Official Assignee.

The list of documents to apply for an order of bankruptcy and Debt Repayment Scheme includes the following documents available on the website of the Ministry of Law:

  • Debtor’s/Creditor’s Bankruptcy Application,
  • Affidavit Verifying the Statement of Affairs,
  • Statement of Affairs,
  • Supporting Affidavit,
  • Debt Repayment Plan,
  • Debtor’s Supporting Documents.

After the Official Assignee assesses the debtor’s application based on eligibility criteria, the OA would then review a repayment plan and present it on the meeting of creditors participated by the debtor whose presence is obligatory. Upon approval, this plan becomes binding on the debtor and any violation could trigger the issuance of Certificate of Failure and resumption of the bankruptcy proceedings.

Important Considerations for Debt Repayment

The DRS plan provides considerable freedom to debtors compared to bankruptcy, including the right to manage a business, while remaining in possession of their property and assets. However, the DRS also places certain restrictions intended to ensure that the debt will be paid out in full, which must be observed in order to avoid losing the DRS status and new bankruptcy proceedings.

One of the primary considerations to clear the debts under the Debt Repayment Scheme is to disclose all the assets and provide accurate reporting of expenses and losses to the OA. Any practices aimed to artificially increase losses or hide assets both local and overseas may lead to the issuance of Certificate of Failure.

Other requirements which must be observed under DRS include:

  • comply with the terms of the plan and payment schedule,
  • submit the documents required by law, and cooperate with the OA,
  • inform the OA of any changes in personal circumstances affecting the ability to repay the debt,
  • inform the OA on the place of residence and contact details,
  • attend the meetings with OA and creditors,
  • fulfill all other requirements presumed by law for debtors under DRS.

Summary

While both the Debt Repayment Scheme in Singapore and the bankruptcy process start in the same way from filing a petition for bankruptcy, the former might be a sound alternative for those debtors who aim to save their property, public image, and rights while repaying their overdue debts. The DRS can be a better option even for the creditors who have increased chances of recovering their funds.

Those debtors who are willing to explore an opportunity to use the benefits of the DRS in Singapore and other alternatives to bankruptcy should consult with an experienced bankruptcy and insolvency lawyer to find out more how retaining their property and rights while restoring their financial situation in a most expedient way.

About the author

Mohamed Baiross
Mohamed Baiross

Founding Partner

Baiross is the managing partner of IRB Law LLP. He is an experienced lawyer with an excellent reputation across a broad selection of practice areas including divorce, insolvency, crime, probate, syariah, and civil litigation.

× Available on Whatsapp