新加坡配偶及子女赡养

新加坡配偶及子女赡养

我们将在这篇文章中,为大家大致介绍新加坡有关配偶及子女抚养费的法律信息。无论是在婚姻期间还是离婚后,新加坡家庭法对配偶和子女的赡养问题,予以高度重视。而处理有关赡养问题的出发点,是希望保证并保持家庭及其成员的合理的生活水准。

此外,在子女抚养费方面,新加坡法律秉持孩子的利益至上的原则,并且该原则亦可凌驾于父母之间达成的协议。换言之,若赡养费不够,法庭有权利下令追加。而“足够”的标准将综合考虑多方条件得出,包括孩子及配偶的开销,以及家庭生活原来的标准。如果没有根据庭令定期支付抚养费或拒绝支付抚养费,法院将采取其他方法强制执行,情节严重或将被逮捕。请注意,入狱并不能抵消支付抚养费。即便破产,仍有义务继续支付抚养费。

新加坡配偶赡养费

妇女宪章中涵盖了有关配偶赡养法的相关法规。 通常来说,是由妻子一方,被赋予获得赡养费的权利,无论是在婚姻关系中,还是离婚后。但近年来,新加坡国会对相关法律不断作出修正,丈夫一方亦可在特别情况下提出赡养费索赔。其中包括,丈夫一方无民事行为能力,残疾或其他原因无法供给自己的生活。

配偶赡养费的总额

在赡养费的具体金额上,并没有具体的公式或其他算法来提前获知。法庭将根据多方面的因素来来决定,是按月支付或是根据开销收据报销或是一次性支付,决定因素包括:

  • 双方在婚姻关系中拥有或在可预见的未来可能拥有的收入、收入能力、财产和其他经济资源;
  • 配偶双方的收入水平;
  • 在可预见的将来婚姻或预期中配偶的经济需要和责任;
  • 离婚前家庭生活水准;
  • 双方年龄及婚龄;
  • 是否有任何生理或心理缺陷;
  • 双方为家庭所做贡献,包括管理或照顾家庭;以及
  • 在离婚诉讼中,任何一方在婚姻解除后无法获得的价值或利益。

例如在案件 Lee Yong Chuan Edwin 诉 Tan Soan Lian (2000) SGCA 68中, 有关上诉涉及,降低一次性支付10年赡养费总额。被告与上诉人结婚12年,并有两个子女,是一名家庭主妇,她通过管理房屋和照顾子女为家庭福利作出了贡献。这对夫妇习惯了奢侈的生活方式,丈夫受雇于一家大型建筑公司担任高管。法院对所有这些情况以及妻子在离婚后不具备就业技能的事实作出了解释,并为她分配了96万美元的赡养费,按每月8 000美元计算,驳回了上诉人将赡养费减至4 000美元的要求。

在新加坡,其他会影响赡养费的因素

总的来说,从法院处获得赡养令,即便只是象征性的一笔金额,也好过完全没有任何赡养令。
APE 诉 APF 一案中, 上诉法庭声明如果在离婚的初始阶段没有获得赡养令的话,那么之后将不可能获得任何赡养费。这一事实在轰动一时的Tan Bee Giok 诉 Loh Kum Yong 1997案件中再次被强调。

但牵扯到穆斯林离婚的赡养费问题,需要分开考虑。在新加坡离婚并涉及赡养问题的穆斯林,有权根据《穆斯林管理法(新加坡)》获得相应法律支持。

儿童抚养费

新加坡将儿童的权利视优先考虑事项,要求父母支付抚养费,包括非婚生子女,并在特定情况下抚养领养子女甚至成年子女。

在新加坡,儿童在21岁之前都有资格获得抚养费,无论他们是否与父母同住。被收养的孩子享有同样的权利,即使前者离开了收养父母的家。这同样适用于在婚姻内部和外部出生的孩子,只要亲子关系成立。

儿童在年满21岁后有权获得抚养费的情况包括:

  • 精神或身体残疾,
  • 接受高等教育,

谁可以申请儿童抚养费

在新加坡以下人士可为儿童申请抚养费:

  • 离婚后继续与孩子生活的一方,
  • 法定监护人,
  • 超过21岁的兄弟姐妹,
  • 本人, 满21岁,并且符合标准。

决定儿童抚养费的金额

与配偶赡养费相似,在儿童抚养费的金额上亦没有具体的公式,来预知法庭的最终判决。一般来说,用于儿童抚养的款项应包括医疗费、基本生活费和教育费。另外,它还必须提供与孩子们一直习惯的生活方式。

其他决定儿童抚养费时考虑的事项

新加坡的家庭法包括关于子女抚养的特别规定,一般不允许离婚父母减少或以其他方式减少支付规定的子女抚养费,除非前配偶双方同意。若前配偶双方协议侵犯子女的权利,或无故减少抚养费的,可以予以撤销。

配偶及子女申请赡养费

无论是配偶赡养费还是儿童抚养费都在离婚程序前或同时进行。

一种申请方法是使用 家庭综合应用管理系统 (google “IFAMS”)它简化了申请过程,有助于构建与申请有关的所有相关数据。

申请提交后,法院将向被告送达传票,要求被告出席听证会。庭审前,当事人与法院调解员一起参加强制调解,调解员将要求当事人说明其费用和收入,并提出解决配偶抚养费的要求。如果双方达成协议,协议将作为法院命令记录在家庭法院的一号家庭法院。如果双方没有达成协议,诉讼将延期,以便双方交换证明其收入、费用和索赔的文件。赡养费将由地区法官在听证会(半天或全天听证会)上决定,在听证会上,双方将对其证据进行质证。

强制执行抚养令

新加坡法律不仅会为前配偶及子女提供强有利的支持,并且将采取严格的执行手段,确保有另一方履行其义务。

通常情况下,法庭将根据情况判定是按月支付,或一次性支付抚养费。在违约的情况下,赡养费接受人可以作出薪资扣押令(AEO),要求银行或雇主扣减一部分资金或工资,并转移至赡养费。

其他违约情况可采取的措施:

  • 对被告处以罚款或判刑,对其每欠一个月的债务处以少于一个月的监禁;
  • 要求违约方抵押物品以防止日后违约;

总结

新加坡的家庭法中,大多数情况下离异父母双方必须为子女提供足够的支持,使其拥有与离婚前相同的生活方式。法律对子女抚养特别严格,不仅是在婚生子女,亦包括非婚生子女、领养子女和21岁以后的成年但符合法律相关要求的子女。

无论您是寻求合理赡养的子女监护人或配偶一方,还是支付报酬的前夫,通过咨询有经验的家庭律师,以确保在尽可能短的时间内充分遵守申请程序,确保履行所有义务。都能够在最大程度上保护您的利益。

About the author

Mohamed Baiross
Mohamed Baiross

Managing Partner

Baiross is the managing partner of IRB Law LLP. He is an experienced lawyer with an excellent reputation across a broad selection of practice areas including divorce, insolvency, crime, probate, syariah, and civil litigation.

In light of the current situation, please note that video and phone consultations remain fully available. Please contact us should you require any legal assistance. 
close-link
× Available on Whatsapp

Spousal and Children’s Maintenance in Singapore

Spousal and Children’s Maintenance in Singapore

In this article, we will run through the general laws surrounding spousal and child maintenance in Singapore. Singaporean family law places a strong focus on spousal and children’s maintenance both during the marriage (i.e. interim maintenance applications) and after the divorce. The aim of such maintenance is to ensure a “reasonable” standard of living for the family and its members at all times.

What’s more, in the case of child maintenance, the law aims to protect the welfare and interest of children and that principle takes priority over any agreements made between spouses or ex-spouses (as the case may be). In other words, if the maintenance is not enough, the Court has the power to order more. What is “enough” is determined by what is reasonable in all the circumstances, bearing in mind the expenses of the child, the spouses and the standard of living the family is used to.  The enforcement measures following a failure to pay maintenance are also quite stringent and can result even in the arrest of the defaulting spouse in case the maintenance is not provided. Please note that it is a wrong assumption that serving jail time for defaulters of maintenance waives the liability to pay. The liability to pay maintenance will subsist even if one is bankrupt.

Spousal Maintenance in Singapore

The law of spousal maintenance is provided in the Women’s Charter. Generally, it is the wife who is entitled to receive maintenance during marriage and/or after divorce. It was only recently that the Singaporean Parliament had made several amendments into the law, enabling husbands to file claims for maintenance under specific circumstances. These include cases when a husband is incapacitated, disabled or otherwise unable to support himself.

Amount of Spousal Maintenance

There is no rate or formula to pre-determine the quantum of maintenance for a spouse or ex-spouse in Singapore. The court will define a monthly payment or order reimbursement upon production of receipts or a lump sum based on a number of factors, including:

  • income, property, and other finances of the spouses;
  • earning ability of both spouses;
  • financial needs and responsibilities of the spouses existing during the marriage or expected in the foreseeable future;
  • standard of living enjoyed by the family before the divorce;
  • age of spouses and the duration of the marriage;
  • any physical or mental disability;
  • contributions made by spouses to family’s welfare, which include managing the home or caring for the family, among others; and
  • value or benefit that would be unobtainable for any of the spouses after the dissolution of marriage.

For example, in the case of Lee Yong Chuan Edwin v Tan Soan Lian (2000) SGCA 68, the court was reviewing the appeal for decreasing maintenance to be paid in a lump sum for 10 years. The respondent, who was married to the appellant for 12 years and had 2 children from this marriage, was a housewife who has contributed to the welfare of the family by managing the house and taking care of the children. The couple was used to a lavish lifestyle as the husband was employed as an executive in a large construction corporation. The court has accounted for all these circumstances as well as the fact that the wife didn’t possess the skills to become employed after divorce and has allotted her the maintenance of $960,000, calculated at the rate of $8,000 a month, dismissing the appellant’s claim to decrease the alimony to $4,000.

Other Things to Consider for Spousal Maintenance in Singapore

Generally, having a Maintenance Order from the court for a symbolic amount is definitely better than having no maintenance order at all. In the APE v APF case, the Court of Appeals stated that it would be impossible to receive any maintenance in the future without the maintenance order from the court at the initial stage, reaffirming the decision in well-known Tan Bee Giok v Loh Kum Yong 1997 case.

In the case of maintenance for the wife after Muslim divorce, separate considerations apply. Muslims, divorcing in Singapore and seeking maintenance, are entitled to different types of marital support specified in the Administration of Muslim Law Act (Singapore).

Child Maintenance

Singapore takes children’s rights for support as a priority obliging parents to pay maintenance even for children born outside marriage, as well as supporting adopted children and even grown-up adult children under specific circumstances.

In Singapore, children are eligible for maintenance until reaching the age of 21, and this is the situation whether they live with their parents on not. Adopted children and birth children have the same rights for support even when the former move out from their adoptive parents home. The same applies to children born inside and outside marriage provided the biological paternity is established.

The cases when children have the right to receive maintenance after reaching the age of 21 include:

  • Mental or physical disability,
  • Undergoing tertiary education,

Who Can Apply for Children’s Maintenance

In Singapore, the list of persons who can apply for receiving child support includes:

  • a parent who continues to live with the child after divorce,
  • a lawful guardian who takes care of the child on behalf of parents,
  • any sibling who is more than 21 years old,
  • the child himself or herself, for example, after reaching the age of 21 if the eligibility criteria are met.

Determining  The Amount of Children’s Maintenance

As in the case of spousal maintenance, there is no fixed rate or formula to determine the amount of maintenance that will be ordered by the court. In general, the sum transferred for child support shall cover medical costs, essential costs of living and education. It must also provide for the same lifestyle the children had been accustomed at all times.

Other Considerations Regarding Children’s Maintenance

The family law in Singapore includes special provisions regarding child support, which generally does not allow divorcing parents to decrease or otherwise minimize the amount paid for children’s maintenance as a result of any divorce arrangements unless mutually agreed by the ex-spouses. In case the ex-spouses make any agreement that infringes on children’s right to maintenance or decreases the amount beyond the valid requirements, such agreements may be set aside.

Applying for Maintenance for Spouse and Children

The application for either or both spousal and children’s maintenance can be filed before or during the divorce proceedings.

One of the ways to apply is to use the Integrated Family Application Management System (google “IFAMS”) which streamlines the process of filing and helps to structure all relevant data pertaining to the application.

After the application is submitted, the court will serve the Summons to the respondent obliging them to be present during the hearing. Before the hearing, parties attend mandatory mediation with a court mediator who will ask the parties to state their expenses and income and propose a settlement of the maintenance claim of the spouse. If the parties come to an agreement, the agreement will be recorded as an order of court in Family Court 1 of the Family Justice Courts. If there is no agreement between the parties, the proceedings will be adjourned for the parties to exchange documents evidencing their incomes, expenses, and claim. The maintenance will be decided by a District Judge at a hearing (half-day or full-day hearing) where the parties will be cross-examined on their evidence.

Enforcement of Maintenance

The Singaporean law not only provides strong support for ex-spouse and children but also includes strict enforcement measures to ensure that the obliged party fulfills his obligations.

In a general case, maintenance is paid monthly or as a one-time payment depending on the decision by the court. In case of default, the recipient of maintenance can make a Garnishee Order or an Attachment of Earnings Order (AEO), which obliges a bank or an employer to deduct a portion of funds or salary and make transfers for maintenance.

Other enforcement measures against defaulting spouse include:

  • imprisonment for a defaulted monthly payment of maintenance;
  • ordering the defaulting parent to set up security against any future delay;

Summary

The family law in Singapore includes a pre-determined set of requirements for strong spousal and children’s maintenance. In most cases, ex-spouses are required to provide enough support for children to have the same lifestyle they enjoyed before the divorce. The law is particularly strict about child maintenance ensuring maintenance not only to children born inside marriage but also to illegitimate children, adopted children, and grown-up children after the age of 21 if they have specific requirements as defined in the legislation.

Whether you are the recipient spouse, child guardian looking for reasonable maintenance, or a paying ex-husband, it’s advisable to consult an experienced family lawyer to make certain that the application process is adequately followed in the shortest possible time and ensure that all obligations are met.

About the author

Mohamed Baiross
Mohamed Baiross

Managing Partner

Baiross is the managing partner of IRB Law LLP. He is an experienced lawyer with an excellent reputation across a broad selection of practice areas including divorce, insolvency, crime, probate, syariah, and civil litigation.

× Available on Whatsapp