如何收购新加坡的企业?

如何收购新加坡的企业?

在新加坡收购一家现有的企业并非易事。有许多事情我们需要考虑。

第1阶段:尽职调查

在确定要购买的企业之后,在交钱前了解清楚您所要购买的企业是非常重要的。在确认购买之前,你需要确认买卖双方所做的交易是否属实。您从这个检查过程中发现的内容不仅将帮助您协商企业的价格和您与卖方之间的协议条款,还将帮助您确定是否需要承担任何潜在的法律风险。
这种调查过程也称为尽职调查,要求您向卖方提出问题,并要求他/她向您提供详细说明企业情况的文件。这些事务分别与法律、金融和商业有关。请注意,本文关注的是法律相关,但是财务和商业调查同样重要。
在您开始调查程序之前,请注意您和卖家签署一份说明双方意图的协议对您有好处。这份协议可以说明当您对企业进行调查时,卖方不能与其他方进行谈判。虽然这封信本身并不具有法律约束力,但如果以后出现争议,可能有助于澄清。
以下是您可以向卖家询问的法律问题列表。 请注意,这并非详尽无遗的。

问题

1、谁是卖方

当我们在买东西的时候,我们通常不会考虑卖家是否有权卖给您。然而,当您购买一家企业时,你不能简单地认为卖家能卖给你。如果卖方是公司,你必须确定所有股东都同意出售;如果卖方是个人,你必须确定他/她出售时没有法律限制。因此这也是确认企业架构的方式。

2、企业实际拥有什么?

确定企业的资产是切实可行的,因为这将帮助您公平地评估企业,并了解在哪里可能出现关于资产所有权的潜在法律纠纷。以下是一些你可能需要特别注意的资产:
a) 营业资产
这指的是企业的资产,这些资产对企业的运行和良好运作非常重要。它可以包括机械、运输工具等。您应该调查卖方是否拥有这些实物资产,是否有保险,是否处于良好的工作状态。
如果企业需要一个场地来运行,调查任何详细说明不动产所有权的租赁协议是同等重要的。
另一项不容忽视的重要企业资产是知识产权。这本质上指的是由个人创造的任何东西它赋予个人对创造的权利。您需要知道您是在购买那个人的权利,还是必须按照那个人的权利行事。
b) 材料合同
这将包括任何详细说明企业内部事务的文件(如股东协议、合资协议、雇佣合同),以及企业与客户的外部事务。了解这些合同是很重要的,因为你需要履行这些合同下的必要义务,以避免被相关方起诉。同时了解哪项合同对于企业维护以确保顺利运营也是非常重要的。
c) 知识产权
对企业有价值的东西,很大一部分往往是无形的。例如品牌名称、商标、客户名单、价目表、供应商名单等,这些往往比企业的有形资产更有价值。这些资产容易被抄袭,从而降低了它的价值。重要的是要确保将这些内容计入并与其他部分一起转移。

3、该企业是否符合法律规定?

确保您收购的企业符合法律或政府部门制定的规定,这一点至关重要。如果您收购了一家不合规的企业,您可能会以罚款的形式耗费更多的成本。此外,作为一名新老板,您将很难纠正前任老板的错误,因为您并不了解企业在您接手之前的状况。因此,您应该以下内容是否存在并已更新:
a) 同意书
这将包括所有必要的证件、许可证以及与当局达成的任何其他安排,以批准企业做某些事情。举个例子,如果您要购买一间酒吧,您应该调查一下这家公司是否有营业执照允许播放现场音乐直到深夜。
b) 税收
若您所购买的企业已登记商品及服务税(GST),在您接手时必须重新申请商品及服务税,因为该企业现拥有新的所有权。此外,您亦须注意提交个人所得税报税表,以避免惹上新加坡税务局(IRAS)的麻烦。
还有一点值得注意的是,您应该彻底检查所有的财务账户,发现任何不符需尽快解决。
c) 报告和审计
了解您购买的企业是否必须由政府机构评估健康和安全标准和/或是否有环境义务。 如果是,最好获得所有相关报告的副本。

4、 是否存在针对该企业的现有或潜在法律诉讼?

如没有遵守3中强调的法律,或者违反了2中的任何重要合同,则企业可能会受到影响。确保您没有接手一间陷入困境的企业是非常重要的。您应该了解卖方可能没有告诉您企业是否存在任何正在进行或受到威胁的法律诉讼。
在获取所有必要的信息后,您可以更好地评估是否想要购买该企业,如果您确实决定完成购买,您将可以更好地准备与卖方就包含在协议中的条款进行谈判。

第2阶段:完成购买

谈判结束后,是时候把商定的条款写入文件中。这份书面协议应该清楚地反映各种企业资产的所有权,以及企业对法律规定的服从性。本协议将为您提供机会纳入某些条款使您免受因购买企业而遭受任何损失。若您在第1阶段的尽职调查中察觉到任何潜在风险,这将是您保护自己的唯一方式。
在本协议签署并完成收购后,如公司名称、注册地址、公司管理人员的任命以及持股比例发生变化,应在14天内通知会计及公司监管局(ACRA)。通知ACRA企业信息更换不收取任何费用。
如果您选择保留前管理层的员工,您还必须提供新的雇佣合同让他们签署,这些合同将从新所有权生效之日生效。

考虑收购一家公司

如果您正在考虑收购在新加坡的现有公司,并希望在此过程中获得法律支持,请不要犹豫与我们联系进行绝对自愿的讨论。

作者介绍

张永文
张永文

合伙人

张永文律师在民事和商业诉讼、国际仲裁、破产和重组相关的业务领域拥有丰富经验,善于应对困难局面。

× Available on Whatsapp

How to Buy Over a Business in Singapore

How to Buy Over a Business in Singapore

Buying an existing business in Singapore is not a straightforward matter. There are a number of things that one ought to consider.

Stage 1: Due Diligence

After identifying a business to buy, it is critical what is actually on sale before you hand over your hard-earned money. You need to check that the business is what the seller makes it out to be before confirming the purchase. What you discover from this checking process will not only help you negotiate the price of the business and the terms of the agreement between you and the seller, but it will help you determine your willingness to commit to any potential legal risks.

This checking process otherwise referred to as due diligence, entails you asking the seller questions and requesting that he/she provides you with documents detailing the business’ affairs. These are affairs separately relating to law, finance and business. Do note that this article focuses on legal checks, but finance and business checks are just as important.

Before you embark on the checking process, do also note that it will be good for you and the seller to sign a letter stating both party’s intentions. This letter can state that the seller cannot enter into negotiations with other parties while you conduct checks on the business. While this letter is not legally binding in and of itself, it could help provide clarification if a dispute arises later.

The following is a list of legal questions that you can ask the seller. Do note that they are not exhaustive.

Questions to ask:

1. Who is the seller?

When buying most things, we don’t usually think about whether the seller has the authority to sell to you. When buying a business, however, you cannot simply assume that the seller can sell to you.  If the seller is a corporation, you must determine that all the shareholders have approved of the sale or if the seller is an individual, you must determine that there are no legal restrictions on him/her to sell. It is thus also good at this point to determine the corporate structure of the business.

2. What does the business actually own?

It is practical to identify the assets of the business as this will help you fairly evaluate the business and understand where potential legal disputes over ownership of assets could arise. The following are certain assets that you might want to pay particular attention to:

a) Business Assets

This refers to assets of the business that are important for the business to function and to function well. It could include machinery, transport vehicles, etc. You should check that the seller owns these physical assets, that they are insured and that they are in good working condition.

If the business needs a physical space to run, it is also important to check any lease agreements detailing the ownership of the real property.

Another important business asset that should not be overlooked is intellectual property. This essentially refers to anything that has been created by an individual which gives that individual rights over the creation. You will want to find out if you are buying over that individual’s rights or if you will have to act subject to that individual’s rights.

b) Material contracts

This would include any document detailing the company’s internal affairs (like shareholders’ agreements, joint venture agreements, employment contracts) as well as the company’s external affairs with clients. It is important to understand these contracts as you can carry out the necessary obligations under these contracts to avoid getting sued by the relevant parties. It is also good to know which contracts are important for the business to maintain in order to run well.

c) Intellectual property

A big part of what is valuable to a business is often intangible. Things such as brand names, trademarks, client lists, pricing, supplier lists, are often worth more than the physical assets of the company. These assets can also be duplicated easily, diminishing their value. It is important to ensure that these are accounted for, and transferred along with the rest of the business.

Has the business complied with the requirements of the law?

It is crucial to ensure that the business you buy over is compliant with laws set out by statutes or governmental authorities. If you buy over a business that is incompliant, you could incur more costs in the form of fines. Further, it will be challenging for you as a new owner to fix past wrongdoings of the previous owners as you will not have a clear idea of what had happened before you took over the business. You should thus look to see if the following exist and are up to date:

a) Consents

This would include all necessary licences, permits and any other arrangement with authorities giving the business approval to do certain things. For instance, if you are buying over a pub, you should check to see that the business has a licence for live music to be played till late in the night.

b) Tax

If the company you purchase is registered for GST, you will have to reapply for GST when you take over since the business now has new ownership. You will also have to take note of filing personal income tax returns, separate from the taxation on the business, to avoid getting into trouble with the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore (IRAS).

It is also good to note that you should check through all financial accounts thoroughly for any discrepancies and resolve them as soon as possible.

c) Reports and audits

It is helpful to know if the business you buy over must be assessed by government bodies on health and safety standards and/or is subject to environmental obligations. If it is, it will be good to obtain copies of all relevant reports.

4. Are there any existing or threatened legal proceedings against the business?

If there is no compliance with the law as highlighted in 3. or if there has been a breach of any of the material contracts in 2., the business could suffer. It is useful to then make sure that you are not taking on an already-suffering business. You should find out if there are any ongoing or threatened legal proceedings against the business which the seller might not have told you about.

After acquiring all the necessary information, you can better assess if you want to buy over the business and if you do decide to go through with the purchase, you will be better equipped to negotiate with the seller for the terms that should be included in the agreement.

Stage 2: Finalising the Purchase

After negotiations end, it is time to put in writing the agreed upon terms in a document. This written agreement should clearly reflect, among other things, the ownership of various business assets and exactly how complaint the business is with the law. This agreement will also be an opportunity for you to include terms that will insulate you from any losses suffered upon buying over the business. The only way you can protect yourself this way is if you are made aware of any potential issues through the due diligence exercise conducted at Stage 2.

After this agreement has been signed and the purchase has been finalized, you should notify the Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority (ACRA) within 14 days of any changes to the business’ name, registered address, the appointment of company officers and any changes in shareholding. No fees will apply for notifying ACRA of the transfer of business.

If you have chosen to retain employees under the previous management, you will also have to provide new employment contracts for them to sign and these will be effective from the date of the new ownership.

Considering buying over a company?

If you are considering to purchase an existing company in Singapore and would like legal support in this process, please don’t hesitate to get in touch for a no-obligation discussion.

About the author

Jeremy Cheong
Jeremy Cheong

Partner

Jeremy has particular expertise in civil and commercial matters, for both transactional and dispute resolution matters. He regularly handles litigation, international arbitration, insolvency, and restructuring matters.

In light of the current situation, please note that video and phone consultations remain fully available. Please contact us should you require any legal assistance. 
close-link
× Available on Whatsapp