移居及在新加坡创业

移居及在新加坡创业

更新于:2019年9月4日

介绍

一直以来,新加坡就是很多人心目中理想的工作和生活的地点。不断有来自全球各地的各界人士移居至此,开始新的生活。近日,戴森的老板詹姆斯戴森宣布, 在新加坡购置两套豪宅,而他的总部也根据企业的部署战略将牵至新加坡。

新加坡拥有稳定的社会、法律及政治环境。在追求自由、安全和专业的投资人眼里,新加坡是不二之选。从地理环境上看,新加坡靠近中国、印度尼西亚、马来西亚、越南、柬埔寨以及缅甸等快速增常的市场。其次新加坡不仅仅海陆交通方便,往返于全球个大都市,且开放和稳定的经济体系同样是吸引资本和人才的重要原因。

新加坡提供的不仅仅是优渥的投资机会,同样也是一个享受劳动果实的安全之地。新加坡的犯罪率极低,多种族多信仰的和谐生存,让他成为了全球最安全的城市之一。

这篇文章将讨论外籍人士(非新加坡人)在新加坡创业及生活的具体步骤和事项。以下几点可能是你正在关心的:

  1. 移民
  2. 股权结构
  3. 监管,制度遵循及许可证
  4. 税收
  5. 雇佣
  6. 商业合同
  7. 政府拨款及支持计划

移民

非新加坡籍人士需要有合法的准证才能在新加坡逗留。一个常见的误解是,新加坡公司的外籍董事将自动获得进入及逗留新加坡的权利,但事实是身为董事或股东的外国人,仍需要有效的移民准证才能够进入及逗留于新加坡。

新加坡政府将根据申请人的条件及进入新加坡的具体原因,来决定签发的不同的准证。想要在新加坡创业常见的准证有新加坡就业准证(EP),新加坡创业准证(EntrePass)和新加坡个人就业准证(PEP)。根据我们的经验,移民当局在考虑是否签发准证时,会考虑以下几点因素:

  1. 受教育水平/特殊技能
  2. 薪资
  3. 公司的财政状况
  4. 背景

新加坡为专业人士发出的几种逗留证件:

  • 就业准证
  • 创业准证
  • 个人就业准证(PEP)

通常情况下,根据商业预测,在创业开始时签发的逗留准证有效期约为1年。在更新逗留证期间,将对实际支付的收入和工资进行审查。相关期间的交易和居住证明文件将被要求提供。

中等技能的外国人及不会在新加坡工作的持证家属,将获得其他类型的逗留证件:
中等技能劳工

  • S准证
  • 工作许可

学生/非工作准证

  • 就业培训准证
  • 社交访问/观光准证
  • 长期准证(LTVP)
  • 受养人准证(DP)

有兴趣在新加坡创业或进行投资的投资者,有机会通过全球商业投资者计划(GIP)获取新加坡永久居民(PR)身份。根据相关规定,需要申请人要有扎实强劲的商业记录(例如每年5000万新币的交易额)并且拥有成功的创业背景。

股权结构

企业的所有权结构有多种选择。以下是常见的几种:

  1. 私人有限公司
  2. 个人独资企业
  3. 分公司
  4. 代表处

出于多种原因,私人有限公司是最常见的选择。私人有限公司具有独立的法人资格,可以以自己的名义拥有财产,雇佣雇员,同时,通过买卖股票或发行新股,灵活变通其所有权比例。

有限责任和独立法人是指公司的权利和义务与其董事、雇员或股东是分离的。实际上,这意味着这些人将不对公司的债务和任何其他责任承担直接责任。

在新加坡创立公司的一些基本要求:

#要求更多资讯
1至少一名股东在新加坡成立的公司可以是100%外资公司,股东可以是个人或公司
2至少一名本地董事身份为以下其中之一:

  • 新加坡公民
  • 新加坡永久居民
  • 创业准证持有者
3一名公司秘书必须为新加坡当地居民,且不能为唯一董事。
4实缴资本至少1新币可以是任何货币,只要金额等于1新币。
5一个本地有效地址这一定是新加坡的实际地址,而不仅仅是一个邮政信箱。
6公司名称一个不会与现有公司混淆的独特名称。对使用含有“新加坡”等词的名称适用限制。

每年还需要遵守其他年度公司文秘工作的要求,如提交年度报告、纳税等。

监管,制度遵循及许可证

根据业务性质,您的法律顾问将告知您需要遵守的相关法律和准则,例如,许多金融服务,如汇款、外汇、融资等,都有限制和许可要求。这些业务需要政府批准和许可。

还有更广泛的监管制度,影响范围广泛的业务,例如《个人数据保护法》,该法规定了一个企业可以收集哪类个人数据的基线,以及他们可以在多大程度上利用这些数据。

税收

新加坡拥有相对具有竞争力的税收环境,新加坡有一个竞争性的税收环境,对个人不征收资本利得税或遗产税。个人所得税最高为20%,企业为17%。各种税收计算适用于公司股利支付、货物和服务税等。

雇佣

雇佣合同将管理企业与其员工之间的商业关系。考虑到新加坡法律中的各种法定规定,雇员有权享受某些合同不能排除的福利,例如有权享受病假、书面工资单等。

雇佣合同中需要注意的重要事项是规定工资、休假权利、试用期、竞业禁止、解雇、保密等条款。

商业合同

正如雇佣合同管理企业与员工之间的商业关系一样,商业合同将有效管理企业与供应商、房东、租户、顾问等之间的商业关系。

根据新加坡法律,一般来说,对企业实体之间可能签订的协议的类型和性质几乎没有限制。而雇佣合同往往更加全面,并根据特定的行业和商业要求进行定制。

政府拨款及支持计划

为鼓励和促进外资投资,新加坡政府推出了多种政府计划。为适应国家本身的需求,这些计划也在不断地调整中,目前有以下计划供参考:

  • 先锋企业优惠(PC) & 发展与扩展优惠计划(DEI)
  • 金融 & 资金管理中心(FTC)税务优惠
  • 飞机租赁计划(ALS)
  • 企业研究补贴计划(RISC)
  • 企业培训补贴(TGC)
  • 知识产权(IP)发展激励(IDI)
  • 能源资源效率补助金(REG(E))
  • 土地集约化免税额(LIA)

About the author

张永文
张永文

合伙人

张永文律师在民事和商业诉讼、国际仲裁、破产和重组相关的业务领域拥有丰富经验,善于应对困难局面。

In light of the current situation, please note that video and phone consultations remain fully available. Please contact us should you require any legal assistance. 
close-link
× Available on Whatsapp

Migrating and Setting up a Business in Singapore

Migrating and Setting up a Business in Singapore

Introduction

Singapore remains a popular destination to live and work. People from all walks of life have moved to Singapore from all over the world. Recently, the city-state welcomed another high-profile resident, Mr James Dyson, who announced the purchase of two luxury homes, along with a desire to be nearer to the fastest-growing markets of his company.

Singapore offers a stable social, legal, and political climate for investment. People who are looking for discretion, safety and professionalism often find Singapore at the top of their list. Geographically Singapore is close to fast-growing markets such as China, Indonesia, Malaysia, Vietnam, Cambodia, or Myanmar. It is not only well connected by air, but its open and stable financial system is also attractive to many global businesses.

Not only does Singapore offer investment and profit opportunities, but it is also a safe place for people to enjoy the fruits of labour. The crime rate is extremely low, and Singapore’s multi-racial and secular identity makes it one of the safest cities in the world for people of all faiths, wealth or gender.

This article discusses the process by which foreigners (non-Singapore citizens) may set up businesses in Singapore and live there. There are a number of factors to consider:

  1. Immigration
  2. Ownership structure
  3. Regulatory, Compliance and Licensing
  4. Tax
  5. Employment
  6. Commercial contracts
  7. Grants and governmental support

Immigration

A person who is not a Singapore citizen requires a pass to remain in Singapore. A common misconception is that foreign director of a Singapore company is automatically entitled to enter and remain in Singapore. A foreigner who is a director or shareholder still needs a valid immigration pass to enter and remain in Singapore.

Different passes are issued by the Singapore Government depending on the individual’s particular circumstances and reasons for wanting to reside in Singapore. Of particular interest to persons intending to set up a company and live in Singapore would be the employment pass, EntrePass and PEP. From our experience, some of the factors that the immigration authorities take into account in deciding whether or not to issue such a pass to a particular person are:

  1. Education level/Unique skills
  2. Salary
  3. Financial performance of the company
  4. Background / General good character

Some examples of the passes that are issued by Singapore for professionals are:

  • Employment pass
  • EntrePass
  • Personalised Employment Pass (PEP)

Typically, passes are issued for a period of about 1 year at the commencement of the business based on commercial projections. The actual revenues and salaries paid will be reviewed during the time when the pass is to be renewed. Documentary proof of transactions and residence over the relevant period of time will be required.

Other types of passes are issued to lower skilled workers and family members who will not be working in Singapore:

Skilled workers

  • S Pass
  • Work Permit

Student/Non-work passes

  • Training employment pass
  • Social visit/”Tourist” pass
  • Long term visit pass
  • Dependent’s pass

For individuals looking to make substantial investments into Singapore, the Global Investor Programme (GIP) accords Singapore Permanent Resident status (PR) to eligible global investors who intend to drive their businesses and investment growth from Singapore. A very strong business track record (e.g. turnover of S$50million a year) and successful entrepreneurial background to qualify.

Ownership Structure

There are several options for the ownership structure of the business. The more common ones are:

  1. Limited liability company
  2. Sole proprietorship
  3. Branch office
  4. Representative office

The limited liability company remains the most common option for many reasons. A limited liability company has a separate legal personality, can own property in its own name, hire employees, all while giving the flexibility to change its ownership proportions by trading shares or issuing new shares.

Having limited liability and separate legal personality means that the rights and obligations of the company are separate and distinct from its directors, employees, or shareholders. In practice, this means that these persons will not be directly responsible for the debts and any other responsibilities of the company.

Some of the basic requirements to set up a company are:

#RequirementMore Information
1At least 1 shareholderSingapore companies can be 100% foreign-owned, and the shareholder may be an individual or a company
2At least 1 local resident directorAn individual who is either:

  • Singapore citizen
  • Singapore permanent resident
  • Entrepass holder
31 company secretaryMust be a local resident in Singapore and cannot be the sole director.
4At least S$1 in paid-up capitalCan be in any currency as long as the amount is equivalent to S$1.00.
51 local registered addressThis must be an actual physical address in Singapore, and not just a post office box.
6NameA unique name that will not be confused with an existing company. Restrictions apply on the use of names containing words like “Singapore”, etc.

There are also other annual corporate secretarial requirements that need to be complied with each year, such as the filing of annual returns, taxes, etc.

Regulatory, Compliance and Licensing

Depending on the nature of the business, your legal advisors will advise on compliance with Singapore’s laws and regulations. For example, there are restrictions and licensing requirements on many financial services, such as remittance, foreign exchange, financing etc. Such businesses require government approval and licensing.

There are also broader regulatory regimes which affect a broad range of businesses, such as the Personal Data Protection Act, which sets baselines as to what kind of personal data a business may collect, and the extent which they may utilise that data.

Tax

Singapore has a competitive tax environment, with no capital gains or estate taxes for individuals. The maximum individual income tax is 20% whilst for corporates, it is 17%. Various tax calculations apply for company dividend payouts, Goods and Services Tax, etc.

Employment

The employment contracts will govern the commercial relationship between the business and its employees. It is important to consider that there are various statutory provisions under Singapore law that entitle employees to certain benefits that cannot be excluded by contract, for example, the entitlement to medical leave, written payslips, etc.

Important considerations to note in the employment contracts would be clauses setting out salary, entitlement to leave, probation periods, non-compete/non-solicitation, termination, confidentiality, etc.

Commercial contracts

Just like employment contracts govern the commercial relationship between the business and its employees, commercial contracts with suppliers, landlords, tenants, vendors, consultants, etc will govern the commercial relationship between them and the business.

Under Singapore law, there is broad freedom to contract and generally, there are few restrictions as to the type and nature of agreements that may be entered into between business entities. Unlike employment contracts, as there are few underlying statutes governing such commercial arrangements, these contracts tend to be more comprehensive and customised to the particular industry and commercial requirements.

Grants and government support

To encourage and promote foreign investment in Singapore, there are various government schemes that have been put in place by the Singapore Government. These schemes are constantly being adjusted to adapt to the changing needs of the country. At the time of writing, the following schemes are currently being offered:

  • Pioneer Certificate Incentive (PC) & Development and Expansion Incentive (DEI)
  • Finance & Treasury Centre (FTC) Incentive
  • Aircraft Leasing Scheme (ALS)
  • Research Incentive Scheme for Companies (RISC)
  • Training Grant for Company (TGC)
  • Intellectual Property (IP) Development Incentive (IDI)
  • Resource Efficiency Grant for Energy (REG(E))
  • Land Intensification Allowance (LIA)

How can we help you?

IRB Law has experience in guiding and setting up various business structures in Singapore. For more help, please don’t hesitate to get in touch for a no-obligation discussion.

“We engaged IRB Law to advise us on the appropriate company structure and share ownership scheme. They were professional and efficient throughout.”
Ben Rush, Founder, FrameIT

About the author

Jeremy Cheong
Jeremy Cheong

Partner

Jeremy has particular expertise in civil and commercial matters, for both transactional and dispute resolution matters. He regularly handles litigation, international arbitration, insolvency, and restructuring matters.

In light of the current situation, please note that video and phone consultations remain fully available. Please contact us should you require any legal assistance. 
close-link
× Available on Whatsapp