新加坡协议离婚

新加坡协议离婚

在新加坡离婚不是一件容易的事,如果未达成协议进入离婚诉讼阶段更是难上加难。在多数情况下,无论谁是被告或原告,简易的协议离婚对双方来说都是最好的选择。事实上,新加坡的司法体系亦鼓励寻求离婚的夫妻进行协议离婚。这将免除所有的法庭程序,仅需要向法庭提交相应的法律文件。进入离婚诉讼后一个月内,法庭将作出临时判决,至此三个月后,将由家事法庭最终签发离婚证明,宣告离婚诉讼结束。

协议离婚只需要配偶双方同意离婚的原因,以及附属事项即可生效。附属事项包括配偶及子女赡养费, 财产分割, 监护权/照顾和和控制权/探视权。整个过程只需要遵循既定的流程和步骤,例如:双方离婚文件的传送,出庭,调解等。

在任何情况下,拥有一名经验丰富的专业离婚律师 协助,都会让整个过程减去不比较的纰漏,让这段对于任何人来说都不痛快的日子,变得些许轻松。

什么是协议离婚?

协议离婚,需要双方同意解除婚姻关系本身之外,还有同意其他附属事项。包括子女监护权,财产分割,以及妻子和子女的赡养费。有时候,双方同意结束婚姻关系,但是就其他附属条件未能达成协议,但如果要进行协议离婚,必须两方面都达成共识。

如果双方准备进行协议离婚,他们可以通过自己聘请的律师向家事司法法庭 递交相关文件。如果文件符合规定,通常会在一个月内举行离婚听证会(法院或不要求当事人出席),然后当事人可以获得离婚临时判决。与有争议的离婚诉讼相比,这节省了很多金钱和时间。

此外,协议离婚与废除婚姻不同,不应混为一谈。

新加坡协议离婚的要求

新加坡无论申请协议离婚或有争议离婚,都包括以下几点要求:

  • 结婚至少三年,并且;
  • 配偶其中一方需要是新加坡公民或永久居民或至少在新加坡居住三年。

因此只要满足上述条件, 外籍人士亦可在新加坡申请离婚 。但如果涉及穆斯林婚姻则需参照 伊斯兰法庭
在新加坡,无论是协议离婚或是有争议离婚,离婚的原因都需满足以下四类之一:

  • 被告婚内通奸,使得原告无法忍受婚内生活。
  • 不合理行为。例如对配偶一方进行身体或精神上的虐待。此外,一方花费过多时间于工作,而忽略了对方亦有可能会被视为不合理行为。
  • 被告离开原告至少两年,无法与之联系,且被告没有回来的迹象或意图。
  • 在达成协议的情况下,两人分居至少三年,或在未达成协议的情况下,分居至少四年。

在新加坡,为达成协议离婚,夫妻双方不仅需要就离婚原因达成共识,其他附属事项亦然:

  • 子女照顾及监护权,包括决定孩子与谁一起生活。谁有权利决定孩子的教育、医疗等重要事项。以及未能与孩子生活的一方,将获得什么形式的探视权,
  • 财产分割,将考虑现在的债务、孩子的需求,儿童需要,以及各方对获得、改善和维持婚内财产的贡献;
  • 给妻子的物质供给,但短婚或妻子收入足够的情况除外,
  • 对21岁以下子女的供给。

在新加坡简化的无争议离婚案中,双方应就这些条款达成一致,并在提交给法院的文件中确认一致意见。

一般情况下离婚的步骤和所需文件

在新加坡,所有的离婚都遵循相似的步骤。除非设计审讯或未就附属协议达成一致的有争议离婚。

步骤1:

  • 向法院提交离婚文件,包括离婚令状、起诉书和诉讼陈述书、证据宣誓书和协议离婚的同意令草案。有争议离婚的文件清单更为细致。
  • 法院审理案件。
  • 获得法院的临时判决。

对于协议离婚,此阶段通常需要1个月的时间,而对于有争议的离婚,原告必须在审判中证明提供相关证明,这个阶段可能会持续数月。

步骤2:

  • 提交宣誓书。
  • 调查财产以及其他有关婚姻有关附属事项。
  • 就离婚后的附属事项进行听证。
  • 作最终判决。

临时判决将会在三个月之后成为正式判决,因此整个协议离婚可以在四个月之内完成。但有争议的情况下,可能会持续一年之久。

新加坡协议离婚vs有争议离婚

有争议离婚是指,配偶一方对离婚的原因和附属事项,两者其一或两者都有意见。且有争议的离婚诉讼步骤较协议离婚步骤复杂,包括要提供更多附加资料,预审会议,以及在儿童为本的冲突处理中心(CFRC)进行调解(如果案件设计幼儿),以及包括申请临时判决在内的多个听证会。

家庭案件会议的是为了对案件进行管理,并在儿童为本的冲突处理中心进行调解,将有争议的案件转化为协议案件。如果双方未能就离婚原因达成友好协议,案件会议法官将给出审判指示,包括证人陈述、陈述以及对双方质证。拟就有争议的案件提供的文件包括证据宣誓书(在审讯阶段)、资产及财产誓章(在附属条件阶段)及呈交法院以证明原告的案件或证明被告的案件(如被告已提出反申诉)。

在新加坡,协议离婚和与争议离婚程序上的区别,大致有以下几点:

协议离婚 有争议离婚
双方就结束婚姻的理由和结果意见一致。 双方未能就离婚事实或结果达成共识。
整个离婚程序将需要3-6个月时间。 整个程序最多耗时12个月,甚至更久。
只需要提供一定数量的文件。 需要大量文件包括离婚原因的事实证明。
所需费用低。 所需律师费用更高,且按时收费。
不需要出庭。 双方需视情况出庭调解或审判。


为什么选择协议离婚?

如上述比较,比起有争议的离婚,协议离婚将大大减少多方的压力和成本,包括夫妻双方、律师及法庭。简言之,协议离婚程序成本较低,持续时间较短,不需要出庭,不包括庭审听证,所需递交文件少。

值得注意的是,根据新加坡法律,法院在决定附属事项时通常不考虑婚姻破裂的原因,任何一方证明另一方“错误“或“不道德”几乎不会得到任何好处。调解往往是就附属事项达成协议的最佳解决办法。

总结

尽管如此,从各方面来看,离婚从来都不是简单的,新加坡协议离婚程序旨在使离婚变得更容易、更短,以避免不必要的成本和麻烦。离婚双方如果打算走协议离婚的道路,应就离婚的原因达成共识,并决定其实质性后果,包括子女的照顾和监护、实质性条款和财产分配。

离婚律师 虽然协议离婚程序提供了许多便捷之处,但经验丰富的法律顾问的帮助会让整个流程更加明朗,避免不必要的失误。你的离婚律师将能够有效地代替您与持不同意见的前配偶的沟通,仔细收集所有事实,填写并提交所有文件,以及说明所有重要条款,这些条款在上法庭之前应达成一致。

作者介绍

Mohamed Baiross
Mohamed Baiross

Managing Partner

Baiross is the managing partner of IRB Law LLP. He is an experienced lawyer with an excellent reputation across a broad selection of practice areas including divorce, insolvency, crime, probate, syariah, and civil litigation.

× Available on Whatsapp

Uncontested Simplified Divorce in Singapore

Uncontested Simplified Divorce in Singapore

A divorce is never easy but can become even more complicated if it becomes a contested divorce proceeding. In many cases, agreeing to a  simplified uncontested divorce can be the best alternative for both spouses notwithstanding who is the plaintiff or the defendant. In fact, the judicial system in Singapore even encourages these simplified uncontested divorces, dispensing with all court proceedings and requiring only the divorce papers to be filed in Court. Within one month of filing the divorce proceedings, parties can expect the interim judgment of divorce and thereafter 3 months later, the divorce is concluded with the Family Court issuing a certificate making divorce proceedings final.

As the name suggests, a simplified uncontested divorce can come into effect when both spouses agree on the reason the marriage should be dissolved and agree on all ancillary matters such as maintenance of wife/children, division of assets, custody/care and control/access of the children so that the whole process follows a simplified track i.e. dispensation of formal service of divorce papers on each other, attendance in court, mediation etc.

Still, even under these circumstances, the assistance of qualified divorce lawyers would be invaluable to get through one of the most challenging periods in any one’s life, observe all the requirements and nuances, and follow the procedure.

What is a Simplified Uncontested Divorce?

In the case of a simplified uncontested divorce, the parties agree on the marriage dissolution itself as well as on the ancillary matters, which include care and custody of children, if any, division of property, as well as maintenance for the wife/children. Sometimes, the parties consent to the dissolution of marriage but not on its material consequences i.e. the ancillaries. In order to have an uncontested simplified divorce, both these aspects must be agreed upon.

If the spouses decide to go for a simplified uncontested divorce, they can file for the said divorce by appointing lawyers who will then file the signed papers to the Family Justice Court via the elitigation module. Consequently, if the papers are in order, an administrative divorce hearing (where parties attendance is not required by the court) will be convened usually in a month and the parties may thereafter extract the interim judgment of divorce. This saves a lot of money and time compared to a contested divorce proceeding.

Meanwhile, the simplified uncontested divorce should not be confused with an application for the Annulment of Marriage.

Requirements for a Simplified Uncontested Divorce in Singapore

The list of prerequisites for filing for both contested and uncontested divorce in Singapore is the same. It includes the following requirements:

  • Marriage should be at least 3 years, and;
  • One of the spouses should have strong ties with Singapore by being either a citizen or being domiciled in Singapore or reside in Singapore for at least 3 years.

Thus, foreigners can also file for divorce in Singapore if the above requirements are met. It must be also be noted, that Muslim spouses or those married under Muslim should turn to Syariah Court should they consider divorce.

The legitimate reasons for filing for both contested and uncontested divorce in Singapore are also the same and fall under 4 categories:

  • Adultery when the defendant had sexual relations outside marriage, and the plaintiff finds it intolerable to continue living in marriage.
  • Unreasonable behavior when for example the defendant inflicts physical or mental abuse or has behaved in an unreasonable and intolerable manner. Common examples such as spending too much time at work and failing to spend meaningful time with the spouse may also be considered behavior which is unreasonable.
  • Desertion if the defendant has left the plaintiff for a minimum of 2 years, cannot be contacted at all and shows no signs or intention to return.
  • Separation when spouses live separately or maintain separate households under mutual consent for at least 3 years or without mutual consent for more than 4 years.

In order to file for divorce under the simplified uncontested track, the spouses should not only consent on the reasons for the dissolution of marriage but also on the material provisions following the divorce, which include:

  • care and custody of children, including making a decision about who will live with the children after divorce, defining the rights to decide upon major moves including education, relocation, medical treatment, as well as determining the form of access to children for the spouse who will live separately,
  • division of property taking into account existing debts, needs for children, as well as the contribution of each of the parties towards acquiring, improving and maintaining the matrimonial property,
  • material provision for the wife except for short marriages or cases when wife income is sufficient,
  • provision for children under the age of 21.

In a simplified uncontested divorce in Singapore, the parties should agree upon each of these terms and confirm the consensus in the documents provided to the Court.

Stages and Documents Required for Divorce Generally

In Singapore, all divorces go through somewhat similar steps except for the trial and/or ancillaries hearing taking place for contested divorces.

Stage 1:

  • Filing divorce papers to the court, including Writ for Divorce, Statement of Claim and Statement of Particulars, Affidavit of Evidence, and Draft Consent Order for uncontested simplified cases. The list of documents for contested divorces is more expanded.
  • Hearing of the case by the court.
  • Receiving Interim Judgment for Divorce.

This stage normally takes from 1 month for uncontested divorces and may last for several months for contested cases where the plaintiff has to prove his or her case at trial.

Stage 2

  • Filing affidavits.
  • Discovery on Assets and/or other material aspects of ancillaries.
  • Ancillary hearing on material provisions following the divorce.
  • Making Final Judgment as to divorce.

The Interim Judgment for Divorce becomes final only after 3 months so that the whole length of simplified uncontested divorce in Singapore may be as short as 4 months in total while for contested cases it can continue for up to the year and longer.

Uncontested vs. Contested Divorce in Singapore

In case of a contested divorce, the spouses disagree either on the dissolution of marriage itself or on ancillary matters resulting from divorce. The contested process is typically lengthier than a simplified one and includes providing additional documents, pre-trial conference, mediation at the Child Focused Resolution Centre (when young children are involved) (CFRC) and multiple court hearings including applications for interim orders.

The family case conference is convened for the purpose of general case management and offering mediation at the CFRC  and converting the contested case into an uncontested one. If the parties fail to come to an amicable agreement on the reasons for the divorce, the case conference judge will give directions for a  trial, which includes witness statements, submissions as well as cross-examination of the parties. The documents to be provided for contested cases include the affidavit of evidence in chief (at the trial stage), the affidavit of assets and means (at the ancillaries stage) and Submissions to the Court to prove the case of the plaintiff or to prove the case of the defendant if the defendant had filed a counterclaim.

The main material differences between contested and uncontested divorce in Singapore can be summarized as follows:

Uncontested Divorce Contested Divorce
Both parties agree on the dissolution of marriage and its consequences. The spouses can’t agree either on divorce or material consequences, or both.
The divorce process takes 3-6 months. The whole process takes up to 12 months, perhaps longer.
A limited list of documents is required. The maximum number of documents required including facts proving the reason for divorce.
The legal fees are lower. Lawyers charge much higher fees that be time-based.
Presence in court is not required. Both parties shall appear in court for mediation or trial as the case may be.


Why Uncontested Divorce is Preferable

As can be seen from the comparison above, uncontested divorce minimizes the complications for this challenging process for all parties involved including spouses themselves, lawyers, as well as judges. In short, the simplified uncontested divorce procedure is less expensive, lasts shorter,  does not require presence in court, excludes trial hearing, and presumes a minimal set of documents to be submitted.

But what is more, in Singapore, the presence of guilt of any of the divorcing parties provides very little benefit or advantage for the plaintiff or the defendant depending on the case of the parties. The ability to prove the fact of adultery or unreasonable behavior gives little or insubstantial advantage in court as to the distribution of property, care about children and other conditions. There is seldom any reason to go for the contested trial to test a party’s application to dissolve a marriage, and mediation is often the best solution to reach an agreement on ancillary matters.

Summary

Even though the divorce is never simple from all points of view, the procedure for uncontested simplified divorce in Singapore is intended to make it much easier and shorter to avoid unnecessary costs and hassle. Those divorcing parties who intend to follow the simplified track, should reach consensus as to the reasons for divorce and also decide upon material consequences, including care and custody of children, material provisions, and distribution of property.

While a simplified divorce procedure provides many easements, the help of an experienced legal counsel might turn invaluable. Your divorce lawyers would be able to effectively take over communication with the disagreeing would-be ex-spouse, carefully collect all the facts, fill out and submit all the documentation, as well as account for all the material provisions, which shall be agreed upon before going to the court.

About the author

Mohamed Baiross
Mohamed Baiross

Managing Partner

Baiross is the managing partner of IRB Law LLP. He is an experienced lawyer with an excellent reputation across a broad selection of practice areas including divorce, insolvency, crime, probate, syariah, and civil litigation.

× Available on Whatsapp