什么时候需要遗产管理书?

什么时候需要遗产管理书?

通常当人过世后留下遗产时,会发生两种情况。

1)那个人写了遗嘱;

2)那个人没有写下遗嘱(这被称为无遗嘱死亡)。

当一个人在完成遗嘱后去世,通常会有一个人被指定为遗嘱执行人,这个人必须向新加坡法院申请获得遗嘱认证,才能分配遗产。

当一个人没有立遗嘱就去世了,他或她的直系家属可以获得遗产管理书,以便能够管理遗产,这个人被称为管理人。

一个常见的误解是,只有当死者没有留下遗嘱才需要申请遗产管理书。然而情况并非如此,有时候遗嘱中的遗嘱执行人可能会拒绝担任遗嘱执行人的角色,因为遗嘱执行人是一个非常繁重的角色。

特别是当遗嘱执行人在未被告知的情况下被任命,这就增加了这个人放弃这个权利的可能,在这种情况下,遗产管理人需要承担管理遗产的任务。

当遗嘱执行人拒绝担任该职务时,最亲近的直系亲属可以申请遗产管理书以便管理遗产。这是在附带遗嘱的情况下申请遗产管理书。

执行人和管理人之间的区别?

尽管遗嘱执行人和遗产管理人好像是在做着相同的事情,但两者之间的权力存在区别,特别是在签发遗嘱认证书或遗产管理书之前。

遗嘱执行人在死者死亡之日起生效,遗嘱执行人在申请代替死者执行遗嘱前,毋须先进性遗嘱认证。

然而,根据新加坡法律,当一个人在五一住的情况下死亡时,她的遗产交由公共信托人保管,而这种对遗产的归属在授予遗产管理书后即告终止。本质上,这意味着除非已经签发遗产管理书,否则死者的近亲没有法律权力代表死者处理遗产。只有在取得遗产管理书后才可以被授予该权力。

到底什么是遗产管理书?

基本上管理书是法院授予的一种授权命令。授权死者的近亲被任命为遗产管理人,根据新加坡法律对遗产进行管理和分配。

这一管理过程的细节可以在遗产认证与管理法案和无遗嘱继承法中找到。

那么如果没有遗嘱,谁将可以管理遗产?

一般来说,如果某人在新加坡去世而没有遗嘱,死者的近亲有优先申请遗产管理的顺序。这一优先次序在无遗嘱继承法中可以找到,规则规定下列人员有权申请遗产管理书(按优先次序将序排列):

他们分别是:

  1. 配偶;
  2. 死者的子女;
  3. 父母;
  4. 兄弟姐妹;
  5. 侄子和侄女;
  6. 爷爷、奶奶;
  7. 叔叔、阿姨。

通常情况下,如果您并没有在所有类别中享有最高优先权,但仍希望为死者管理遗产,您必须先取得优先级比您高的受益人的同意。这就是所谓的放弃,还需要在宣誓官面前获得这些受益人的签字同意。

在申请遗产管理书时,还有什么需要注意的吗?

应该注意的是,破产人士和婴儿不可以被任命为遗产管理人。如果有权被授予管理人头衔的人是婴儿,则应向其监护人或如果婴儿年满16岁,向婴儿提名的任何近亲授予该项权力。

虽然最多可以指定四名管理员,但一名管理员即可以申请管理书。 但是,如果遗产中有未成年人(少于21岁)或终身利益(资产仅可在受益人在世时使用,不能世袭),则必须至少指定两名管理人员,如果不是政府必须授予信托公司管理。

About the author

Mohamed Baiross
Mohamed Baiross

Managing Partner

Baiross is the managing partner of IRB Law LLP. He is an experienced lawyer with an excellent reputation across a broad selection of practice areas including divorce, insolvency, crime, probate, syariah, and civil litigation.

In light of the current situation, please note that video and phone consultations remain fully available. Please contact us should you require any legal assistance. 
close-link
× Available on Whatsapp

When will Someone Need Letters of Administration?

There are two circumstances that may arise after a person has passed away: the deceased has made a will, or the deceased has no will (died intestate).

For the situation where a non-Muslim deceased died intestate, Singapore’s intestacy laws – the Intestate Succession Act (“ISA”) applies. The deceased’s estate shall be administered and distributed according to the ISA.

The deceased has made a will

Normally, in the deceased’s will, an individual is appointed as the ‘executor’. The executor is required to extract the ‘Grant of Probate’ from the Singapore courts in order to distribute the deceased’s estate.

However, there may be situations where the deceased’s next of kin is required to apply for the letters of administration even though the deceased has made a will. These situations are as follows:

  1. There is no executor appointed by the deceased’s will;
  2. The executor appointed by the will does not appear and extract probate.
  3. The executor passed away before the deceased;
  4. The executor passed away before obtaining probate, or before he can administer all the deceased’s estate; or
  5. The executor appointed by the will is legally incapable of acting as such or have renounced his right to act as such.

The deceased died intestate

When a person passed away without a will, their closest next of kin shall become an ‘administrator’. The administration shall obtain the ‘Letters of Administration’ in order to administer the deceased’s estate.

However, even if the deceased has made a will before they passed away, the individual who was appointed as an executor by the deceased may not want to be an executor. This may due to the reason that executor carries a heavy burden in managing and distributing the deceased’s estate. In addition, there are incidents where the deceased did not inform the person who was appointed as an executor. As such, the executor was caught by surprise and this escalates the possibility of the individual to renounce their role as an executor.

Consequently, another person who is the closest next of kin of the deceased is required to apply for the Letters of Administration in order to become an administrator of the deceased’s estate. This is known as applying for the Letters of Administration with the will annexed.

What are the differences between executors and administrators?

It seems that the functions of an administrator and an executor are the same. However, the reality is that there are distinct differences between both. When there is a will, an executor is empowered with the authority to manage the deceased’s estate once the deceased has passed on. Probate of the will is not required.

When there is no will or the deceased died intestate, the deceased’s estate will be managed by the Public Trustee until the administrator has obtained the letters of administration. The deceased’s next of kin are not allowed to manage the deceased’s estate unless they have extracted the letters of administration.

What are the Letters of Administration?

Letters of administration are to be granted by the court. It is a court order appointing the deceased’s next of kin as an administrator. The administrator is then empowered by the letters of administration to manage and distribute the deceased’s estate. The administrator shall distribute the deceased’s estate according to the Singapore Law.

For more details about the administration process, one can refer to the Probate and Administration Act and the Intestate Succession Act.

Who can administer the deceased’s estate if the deceased died intestate?

According to the Intestate Succession Act, there is an order of priority for the deceased’s next of kin to apply for the letters of administration. The list below shows the order of priority of the persons who are entitled to apply for letters of administration:

  1. spouse;
  2. children;
  3. parents;
  4. brothers and sisters;
  5. nephews and nieces;
  6. grandparents; and
  7. uncles and aunts.

If an individual intends to act as an administrator of the deceased’s estate but they are not in the highest priority out of all the classes mentioned above, they are required to obtain a renunciation and a signed consent from the persons who have a higher priority than him or her in the presence of a Commissioner of Oaths.

Important notes for the letters of administration application

It is noteworthy that, infants and bankrupts cannot be appointed as administrators. If the most relevant next of kin of the deceased is an infant, then the letters of administration will be made to the infant’s guardian. However, if the infant is 16 years old, they may nominate their next of kin to act as the administrator.

The court can appoint a maximum of four administrators but any one of the four administrator may appoint for the letters of administration.

At least two administrators must be appointed in the event where there is a minor (age below 21) or life interest (where the deceased intends for their assets to be used during the beneficiary’s lifetime only) involved. Alternatively, a trust corporation may be appointed as an administrator.

This article is intended to give broad guidance on the topic. For further information, and answers to specific questions – please get in touch.

× Available on Whatsapp