新加坡雇佣合同

新加坡雇佣合同

在新加坡什么是雇佣合同?

雇佣合同是雇主和雇员之间的一份协议,它管理双方之间的关系并依法强制执行。合同可以全部采用书面形式,或全部采用口头形式,也可以采用部分书面形式、部分口头形式。为了是合同具有可执行性,双方必须自愿签订合同。合同由各项协议的条款组成,条款可以是明示的(在合同中明确规定的,可以是口头的或书面的),也可以是暗示的(没有明文订立,但也是作为合同中的一部分)。

新加坡法院如何看待雇佣合同?

一般来说,新加坡法律遵循合同自由的形式,这意味着当事人可以自由地往合同中纳入任何条款,只要这些条款不违法。然而,事情并没有那么简单。雇佣合同收到其他法律的约束,例如《雇佣法令》,该法令要求雇员必须每月至少领取一次工资,如果他们被要求在公共假期工作,则有权获得额外的一天工资。

我在草拟雇佣合同时应该注意什么?

一般来说,雇主在草拟雇佣合约时会列明有关开始工作、薪金及报酬、工作范围及要求、工作时数、假期(包括病假、福利、解雇理由及终止雇佣合约的通知期)的条款。在起草雇佣合同时要考虑的一个重要因素是职业类型是否被《雇佣法令》所涵盖。该法是管理劳动合同的一项重要立法。该法案包含了一定的最低要求,这些要求必须包括在雇佣合同中。

新加坡的《雇佣法令》涵盖哪些领域?

新加坡的《雇佣法令》涵盖了许多领域。这些领域包括以下几个方面:

  • 工作职位 ;
  • 工作范围,即必须履行的职责;
  • 聘用开始日期/工作开始日期;
  • 薪金及津贴(如有);
  • 薪金支付期;
  • 应缴付的公积金数额;
  • 每天/每个星期/每个班次的工作时数;
  • 加班费;
  • 休息日;
  • 雇员福利,如:年假、病假及住院假;
  • 终止雇佣合约及通知期。

新加坡的雇佣法令是否适用于所有人?

雇佣法令适用于根据劳动合同在新加坡工作的所有人(包括外国人)除了:

  • 从事行政或管理职位的人员,基本月薪超过$4,500;
  • 海员、家政工人和政府或法定董事会雇佣的人员。

此外《雇佣法令》第四部分载有工作时间、休息日和其他服务条件的规定,只适用于:

  • 基本月薪低于$4,500 的工人
  • 《雇佣法令》中涵盖的基本月薪低于$2,500的非工人。

如果一份雇佣协议或雇佣合同不符合新加坡的《雇佣法令》怎么办?

如果该问题是纳入在雇佣法令当中,而且雇主签订的雇佣合同没有遵循雇佣法令。那么雇主将被判有罪,被判罚款$5000,最高6个月的监禁,或两者兼施。屡犯者可能面临最高$10 000的罚款,最高12个月的监禁,或者两者兼施。

雇佣合同需要采用书面形式吗?

雇佣合同不是必须采用书面形式,但最好出具书面合同,以便双方了解协议的具体条款,包括双方的权利和责任。一旦合同当事人签署了书面合同,法院将认定他或她已经同意了合同中的所有条款。

作为新加坡的雇主,我必须为我的雇员提供什么?

如果雇佣行为受《雇佣法令》管辖,且雇员受雇时间为14天或更长,雇主必须以书面形式向雇员发出一份关键雇佣条款清单。若不这样做,可能会视乎违例的性质而定,每宗违例个案可被罚款100至200元,以及/或接受人力资源部发出命令要求改正违例。不遵守新加坡人力资源部的命令将构成犯罪,最高可被罚款$5000,监禁6个月,或两者兼施。

如果双方同意,我可否修改雇佣合同的条款?

雇主可能因为很多原因希望修改雇佣合同条款,潜在的修改包括新的薪酬标准,新的工作时间或新的职责。然而一旦合同成立,合同的条款只有在双方同意的情况下才能更改,同意协议可采用口头或书面形式。若雇员不同意更改,但在新条件下继续工作,法院可裁定该雇员已同意新条款。

如何终止雇佣合同?

雇佣合同不可能永远有效。任何一方如欲终止雇佣关系,必须遵守雇佣合约的条款或最低法定期限。大多数雇佣合同都有明确的终止条款,规定了一方在终止合同前必须给另一方的通知期限。

如果雇佣合同没有终止条款怎么办?

如果合同中没有包含明确的终止条款和通知期,法院将指定一个合理的通知期限。请记住,这期限可能不符合您的要求,所以在起草雇佣合同时,写上您想要的通知期限是很重要的。合同也可以在特定的任务或项目完成后终止。对于受《雇佣法令》管辖的合同,如果另一方故意违反雇佣合同的条款,或被发现有与明示或暗示的合同条款相冲突的不当行为,一方可以在不提供理由或通知的情况下终止雇佣关系。此外,受《雇佣法令》管辖的合同可以通过支付工资而不是通知的方式终止合同。

如果雇员违反雇佣合同的条款,我可以怎样做?

根据新加坡法律规定,若合同一方不履行合同的义务,另一方可以向其提起民事诉讼,要求对方赔偿损失。另外,一份完善的合同应该包括规定违约方必须支付一笔特定的金额,即所谓的“违约金”。法院将强制违约方支付这笔款项作为赔偿,但条件是该款项并非是与受损方的损失完全不成比例的惩罚。在某些情况下,也有可能获得禁令,以防止雇员继续违反合同。

新加坡的限制从业条款

我可否在雇佣合同中加入一项条款,以防止前雇员为竞争对手工作、开办竞争业务或从我的业务中招揽客户或雇员?

可以。可是这一条款可能无法在法庭上强制执行。许多雇主试图在他们的雇佣合同中加入所谓的“竞业禁止条款”,以防止前雇员为竞争对手工作,或开办竞争企业。这些条款可阻止雇员在某段时间内或在某一特定区域内从事其职业。

雇主也可以纳入禁止招揽条款,以防止前雇员招揽客户或在雇主公司中招揽雇员。这些条款属于一组被称为“限制从业”条款。由于限制从业条款限制了前雇员从事其专业的能力,除非有正当理由保护当事人和公众的合法利益,否则这些条款是不可执行的。根据新加坡法律,竞业禁止条款是否可强制执行取决于具体情况。

一些重要的因素包括限制时间持续多久,限制范围有多大,以及限制哪些具体的活动。法院还将考虑前雇员的经验,他或她所掌握的机密信息,以及该雇员在哪个行业工作。如果法院发现从业限制条款的范围过大,法院可能认为整个条款不可强制执行,或者将应用“酌情处理原则”删除条款中过多部分,只强制执行条款中合法部分。因此,在起草竞业禁止条款时,雇主应尽可能谨慎地使用竞业禁止条款,以确保该条款在法庭上是可执行的。

新加坡的保密协议(NDA)

如果您员工的工作要求他或她接触商业机密或其他敏感的商业相关信息,而且若这些信息泄露,将会损害您的业务,保密协议可以帮助确保这些信息保密。保密协议是具有法律约束力的合同,其中一方承诺不披露特定的保密信息。

如果该方后来披露了保密信息,这将被视为违反合同,受害方可以要求赔偿,甚至可以申请禁令,以防止对方今后再次违反合同。保密协议在企业中扮演着重要的角色。它们允许企业获得融资,将工作外包给专家,并在确保重要商业机密不会被与其利益相关的竞争对手利用的前提下出售业务。

新加坡对保密协议有什么限制吗?

对于保密协议所涵盖的信息种类没有特殊限制—典型的例如包括销售计划、设计说明、软件和客户资料。在起草一份保密协议时,重要的是要记住什么类型的信息是您需要保护或排除的,该协议持续时间,以及履行方是否应该在任务完成后销毁信息。

× Available on Whatsapp

Employment Contracts in Singapore

Employment Contracts in Singapore

What is an employment contract in Singapore?

An employment contract is an agreement between the two parties (the Employer and the Employee) which govern their relationship and is enforceable by law. A contract can be entirely written, entirely oral or partly written and partly oral. However, both parties must enter into the contract voluntarily for the contract to be enforceable. Contracts are made up of terms, which reflect the various aspects of the agreement. Terms may be express (stated explicitly in the contract, either orally or in writing) or implied (not stated explicitly but taken to form part of the contract).

How do the Singapore courts view employment contracts?

In general, Singapore law follows a freedom-of-contract approach, meaning that the parties are free to include whatever terms they wish into a contract, provided that these terms are not illegal. However, it is not quite that simple. Employment contracts are also subject to other laws, such as the Employment Act, which requires that certain workers must receive salary payments at least once a month and are entitled to an additional one day’s salary if they are required to work on a public holiday.

What should I consider when drafting an employment contract?

Typically, when drafting an employment contract, employers include terms relating to commencement of work, salary and remuneration, job scope and requirements, working hours, leave (including medical leave, benefits, grounds for dismissal and notice periods for termination. An important factor to consider in drafting an employment contract is whether or not the type of employment is covered by the Employment Act. The Act is a significant piece of legislation which governs employment contracts. The Act contains certain minimum requirements which must be included in an employment contract.

What are the areas covered by the Employment Act in Singapore?

The Employment Act in Singapore covers many areas. These are some of the following areas covered:

  • Salary
  • Overtime
  • Leave
  • Annual
  • Medical
  • Maternity/Paternity
  • Childcare
  • National Service

Does the Employment Act in Singapore cover everyone?

The Employment Act covers all persons (including foreigners) working under a contract of service in Singapore except:

  • Persons employed in executive or managerial positions earning more than $4,500 in basic monthly salary;
  • Seamen, Domestic workers and persons employed by the Government or by a Statutory Board

Additionally, Part IV of the Employment Act, which contains provisions for working hours, days of rest and other conditions of service, only applies only to:

  • Workmen earning below $4,500 in basic monthly salary, and
  • Non-workmen covered under the Employment Act earning below $2,500 in basic monthly salary.

What happens if an employment agreement or employment contract does not follow the Employment Act in Singapore?

If the employment in question is covered by the Act, AND the employer enters into an employment contract which does not follow the requirements of the Employment Act, then the employer will be found guilty of a criminal offence which is punishable with a fine of up to $5000, up to six months in prison, or both. Repeat offenders could face fines of up to $10 000, up to 12 months in prison, or both.

Does my employment contract need to be in writing?

It is not necessary for the employment contract to be in writing, though it is advisable to issue a written contract so that both parties are aware of the specific terms of the agreement, including their rights and responsibilities. Once a contracting party signs a written contract, the court will conclude that he or she has agreed to all of the terms contained within the contract.

What must I give my employee as an employer in Singapore?

If the employment is governed by the Employment Act and the employee is employed for 14 days or more, employers must issue a list of key employment terms, in writing, to the employee. Failure to do so could depend on the nature of the breach, leading to a fine of $100-$200 per incident, and/or an order from the Ministry of Manpower to rectify the breach. Failure to comply with a MOM order will constitute a criminal offence punishable by fines up to $5000, imprisonment of up to 6 months, or both.

Can I vary the terms of an employment contract once both parties have agreed to it?

There are many reasons why an employer might wish to alter the terms of a contract with an employee. Potential changes could include a new rate of pay, new working hours or new duties. However, once a contract is formed, its terms of a contract can only be varied if both parties agree to the changes. This agreement can be made orally or in writing. If an employee does not agree to the changes but continues to work under the new conditions, the court may decide that the employee has agreed to the new terms.

How can I terminate an employment contract?

An employment contract cannot last forever. If either of these parties wishes to terminate the employment, they must follow the terms of the employment contract or the minimum statutory period. Most employment contracts contain an express termination clause, which states the required notice period that one party must give the other before terminating the contract.

What happens if the employment contract does not have a termination clause?

If the contract does not contain an express termination clause with a notice period, the court will imply a reasonable notice period instead. Remember that this period may not suit your needs as an employer, so it is important to include your desired notice period when drafting an employment contract. A contract may also be terminated by expiry once a specific task or project is completed. For contracts governed by the Employment Act, one party may terminate employment without providing a reason or notice if the other party willfully breaches a condition of the employment contract or if found to have committed misconduct which conflicts with an express or implied term of the contract. Alternatively, a contract governed by the Employment Act may be terminated by payment of salary instead of notice.

What can I do if my employee breaches a term of the employment contract?

According to Singapore law, if one party to a contract does not perform his or her obligations under a contract, the other party may file a civil suit to sue for damages for breach of contract. Alternatively, a well-drafted contract may contain provisions stating that a specific sum of money, known as “liquidated damages,” must be paid by the party breaching the contract. The court will compel the breaching party to pay this sum as compensation, provided that the sum is not found to be a penalty which is wholly disproportionate to the innocent party’s loss. In certain circumstances, it may also be possible to obtain an injunction to prevent the employee from continuing to breach the contract.

Restraint of Trade Clauses in Singapore

Can I include a term in the employment contract to prevent a former employee from working for a competitor, opening a competing business, or soliciting clients or employees from my business?

Yes. However, this clause may not be found to be enforceable in court. Many employers try to include so-called non-compete clauses into their employment contracts to prevent former employees from working for competitors or opening a competing business by including a non-compete clause in the employee’s contract. Such clauses may prevent an employee from practising his or her profession for a certain period or within a particular geographic area.

Employers may also include non-solicitation clauses to prevent former employees from soliciting clients or employees away from the employer’s business. Such clauses belong to a group of contractual clauses known as ‘restraint of trade’ clauses. Because restraint of trade clauses restrict a former employee’s ability to practice his or her profession, they are unenforceable unless they can be justified as protecting the legitimate interests of the parties and the public in general. Whether a non-compete clause is enforceable under Singapore law depends on the context.

Some important factors include how long the restrict lasts, how large an area the restriction covers, and which specific activities are restricted. Courts will also consider how experienced the former employee is, how much confidential information he or she had access to, and which industry the employee works in. If the court finds that the scope of the restraint of trade clause is excessive, the court may either find the entire clause unenforceable or will apply the ‘doctrine of discretionary severance’ to remove excessive portions of the clause and only enforce the legitimate portions of the clause. Therefore, it is essential that when drafting a non-compete clause, employers should word a non-compete clause as carefully as possible to ensure that the clause is enforceable in court.

Non-Disclosure Agreements (NDA) in Singapore

If your employee’s role requires him or her to have access of trade secrets or other sensitive business-related information which would harm your business if leaked, a non-disclosure agreement can help to ensure that such information remains confidential. A non-disclosure agreement is a legally binding contract under which one party undertakes not to disclose certain confidential information.

If that party later discloses this information, this will be considered a breach of contract which would allow the innocent party to claim damages or even seek an injunction to prevent future breaches of contract. Non-disclosure agreements play an important role in businesses. They allow businesses to obtain financing, outsource work to experts and to pursue selling their business with the security that important business secrets will remain confidential and will not be used by competitors with their interests.

Are there any restrictions of a non-disclosure agreement in Singapore?

There are no restrictions on the kinds of information that can be covered by a non-disclosure agreement – typical examples include sales plans, design specifications, software and client databases. When drafting a non-disclosure agreement, it is important to bear in mind exactly what kind of information you wish to protect or exclude, as well as how long the agreement is intended to last, and whether the receiving party should destroy the information once the assignment or other purpose is complete.

In light of the current situation, please note that video and phone consultations remain fully available. Please contact us should you require any legal assistance. 
close-link
× Available on Whatsapp